LED Lights: Getting More from Your Stator - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
1992 Vulcan 750
 
AGStrange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via AIM to AGStrange
LED Lights: Getting More from Your Stator

I was wondering if replacing all (or most) bulbs with LEDs allows for enough savings on the electrical system that you can add some accessories? Specifically, if you replace all bulbs (except the headlight, speedometer and tachometer) with LEDs, is it then possible to add a light bar and not strain the system?
AGStrange is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 02:43 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
The tach & speedo lights can be changed to LED's too. There's someone here who did it with blue ones.

As for your question... Yes, it'd be a BIG help to replace the standard bulbs with LED's. (just watch out for the cheapo turnsignal LED's (ya get what ya pay for)
But you'll still need to be careful of what/how much extra ya add.
The issue of limited power comes up mostly when sitting at an idle. The stator isn't running fast enough to charge the battery until 1500 or more RPM's.
Seems that most people here with a light bar use bulbs around 25 watts.

I'm not too into electrical stuff, so maybe someone else with more knowledge on it will add their words of wisdom


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 09:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperbuzzin View Post
The tach & speedo lights can be changed to LED's too. There's someone here who did it with blue ones.

As for your question... Yes, it'd be a BIG help to replace the standard bulbs with LED's. (just watch out for the cheapo turnsignal LED's (ya get what ya pay for)
But you'll still need to be careful of what/how much extra ya add.
The issue of limited power comes up mostly when sitting at an idle. The stator isn't running fast enough to charge the battery until 1500 or more RPM's.
Seems that most people here with a light bar use bulbs around 25 watts.

I'm not too into electrical stuff, so maybe someone else with more knowledge on it will add their words of wisdom

Would you have a link to led lights for the speedometer and tach ?
Is there anything special about this or is it just popping a new bulb in ?
How do you get into the housing ?
Thanks.
Nomad is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 09:59 PM
Benjammin'
 
BSkaggs513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio, Dayton-Cincy area
Posts: 421
iTrader: (0)
 
It may be a good place to start with a list of all the bulbs that stay lit when the bike is running. I would guess that if we could replace all or most of those bulbs with LED's, the battery would require less recharge when at lower RPM's. Thoughts?

Anyone want to take a stab at listing all the bulbs that stay lit and the corresponding LED bulb to replace it?

Ben-
SW Ohio

'02 VN750
Pipes drilled
Spline lubed
R/R relocated
AGM batteried
Iridium equipped
LED tail lighted
8000-ish miled
Soon to be MCCTed

Lovin Life.
BSkaggs513 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 11:23 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
How do you get into the housing ?
I just came across all of my pics from the housing "cleaning" I did on Orleans -came across a lot of bugs and nests (for real!), but it wasn't too bad a job. There are screws on the back of the housing that need to come out in order for that whole gauge cluster to be lifted out. Let me see if I can download those into my gallery in the a.m.

Sadly, I only replaced the bulbs in there with stock bulbs - so they're all brand new and not LEDs.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2007, 03:15 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
Would you have a link to led lights for the speedometer and tach ?
Is there anything special about this or is it just popping a new bulb in ?
How do you get into the housing ?
Thanks.
HERE's the post on it. It was Racohoon that did it.
And Foxhound mentions THIS site for the bulbs. They seem to have quite a selection.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome