Compatable Speedo? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
lVluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)
 
Compatable Speedo?

I'd like to give these bulbous gauges a slimming, especially if I plan to switch to clubmans, but I'm not sure if this is applicable:

ebay.com/itm/171231326652?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p398 4.m1423.l2649

Or if I must go retro with a single speed/voltmeter combo.
Sorry, I can't post links. -__-
lVluffin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 03:17 PM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
Where do you connect the speedo? Or do you have to run something else to the tire? It's cool looking. I'd change mine perhaps if it works.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 03:30 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,459
iTrader: (5)
 
those typically use a magnetic sensor that gets mounted to the fork, with a magnet on the wheel someplace. then you go program in how many revs=mph (method for that varies, from actually running at a certain speed, to entering the wheel circ.)

I had toyed with the idea for a while, but decided I had better things to spend my money on at the time
michiganteddybear is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 03:31 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganteddybear View Post
those typically use a magnetic sensor that gets mounted to the fork, with a magnet on the wheel someplace. then you go program in how many revs=mph (method for that varies, from actually running at a certain speed, to entering the wheel circ.)
X2


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 03:37 PM
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
 
OleDirtyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norwich,NY
Posts: 15,888
iTrader: (0)
     
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to OleDirtyDoc
I don't wear em myself.I look kinda goofy in a speedy

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

ONE RATS ASS GIVEN PER POST
Support your local FREEBIRDS MC
1986/5 Vn700/750 Frankenfook cross eyed bitch "Mellisa Fayhe"
I am a BIKER and i'm proud.FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY

lowered with progessive 412 10" shocks
rejetted for K/N Pods part#rc 2340
sportster seat

'I didn't lose my mind.i gave it away

BRING BACK WOLFIE."Peace and Carrots"RIP
"And I'm free...as a bird"John Lennon Free as a Bird
"I only carry when I have my pants on"Joe Robinson RIP aka Old Dog
OleDirtyDoc is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 03:46 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by OleDirtyDoc View Post
I don't wear em myself.I look kinda goofy in a speedy

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
No, you just ride with your assless chaps, lol.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 04:12 PM
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
 
OleDirtyDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norwich,NY
Posts: 15,888
iTrader: (0)
     
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to OleDirtyDoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
No, you just ride with your assless chaps, lol.
What am I the only one? Was wondering why I chafe after a long ride

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

ONE RATS ASS GIVEN PER POST
Support your local FREEBIRDS MC
1986/5 Vn700/750 Frankenfook cross eyed bitch "Mellisa Fayhe"
I am a BIKER and i'm proud.FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY

lowered with progessive 412 10" shocks
rejetted for K/N Pods part#rc 2340
sportster seat

'I didn't lose my mind.i gave it away

BRING BACK WOLFIE."Peace and Carrots"RIP
"And I'm free...as a bird"John Lennon Free as a Bird
"I only carry when I have my pants on"Joe Robinson RIP aka Old Dog
OleDirtyDoc is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 04:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
lVluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)
 
Running the magnet wouldn't be that bad, its the wiring that I'm worried about. I haven't delved into the electronics yet, so I don't know if its plug and play, or if I'm going to have to ghetto rig it in there. Any idea if those wiring harnesses are appropriate?
lVluffin is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 05:13 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,459
iTrader: (5)
 
usually only wiring that will apply to our bikes is:

power (usually 1 switched 12v, 1 constant 12v, one ground)
tach 1 wire
turn signal indicators (1 wire each direction)
Neutral indicator (1 wire)
high/low beam (1 wire)
oil light (1 wire)

those are the major ones (and they may vary depending on the unit)

some also have gear position indicators, which may be calculated by rpm/speed input, or some have actual inputs from switch(s).

basically, NONE will be plug and play on our bikes. we dont have the electronics in them to make that even remotely an option. Newer computer controlled bikes may have that ability, but usually a universal cluster like that will require connecting wires to various others that exist on the wiring harness
michiganteddybear is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 06:35 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by lVluffin View Post
Running the magnet wouldn't be that bad, its the wiring that I'm worried about. I haven't delved into the electronics yet, so I don't know if its plug and play, or if I'm going to have to ghetto rig it in there. Any idea if those wiring harnesses are appropriate?
A former member on here used that same speedo set up... he had to dissect the stock wiring harness in the headlight bucket to get the correct feeds for the sensors... It wasn't that bad (I helped him trace wires by phone) the hardest part of the ordeal was having the patience to track down the needed wires.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome