Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-04-2007, 11:37 PM Thread Starter
fubar

Unhappy Bad charging system?

I just bought a 1986 VN750 two weeks ago. I'm still learning to ride, so I stalled out a few times Thursday. This may have something to do with the following problem:

Symptoms:
Stalled out, couldn't start engine again
Battery was dead

What I've done:
Recharged the battery to full
Tested it on a battery tester. Checked out fine.
Took her out for a ride, seemed OK. The previous owner installed a voltmeter and relocated the regulator/rectifier as detailed in other posts on this forum. The voltmeter is connected at the battery.

Voltmeter readings:
12.8-12.9 VDC bike & ignition off
~12.3 VDC ignition on, engine off
About the same when the engine is on, and idling

Revving the engine doesn't change the voltage reading. The only thing I found that changed the voltage measured was actually getting the bike going in a higher gear (>=3) and at an engine speed of about 3k RPM.

This is from memory, but I'll try to borrow a decent voltmeter and measure voltages directly.

Has anybody experienced anything similar, or have any suggestions on what I can do to troubleshoot further?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-04-2007, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
fubar

Forgot to mention: Removing the positive lead from the battery when the engine's warmed up and running will cause it to sputter and die.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2007, 07:31 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountiealpha View Post
Forgot to mention: Removing the positive lead from the battery when the engine's warmed up and running will cause it to sputter and die.