Intermittant not Cranking - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: (5)
 
Intermittant not Cranking

ok, so I have developed an intermittant no crank issue. when it does crank, it cranks strong, and starts and runs good.

Already cleaned start button

Traced problem to possibly the junction box. when I get no crank, the wire from the start button (black if I recall, pin 11) gets battery voltage. No clicks, just dead silence.

there appears to be a relay internal to the j box, could it be going?

also, when no crank happens, I can whack in area of j box (left cover) and it will crank.

btw, bike is bone stock, other than MCCT's and AGM battery

Last edited by michiganteddybear; 10-01-2013 at 08:42 AM.
michiganteddybear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,629
iTrader: (5)
   
Could be the spades in the plugs on the Junction Box needing tightened up. I had this problem with the cooling fan.

Try holding the start button then lightly touching the wires on the two plugs.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 10:18 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
I had to clean and stretch the springs in that daggum switch several times before it was right. There's not much else to the system.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: (5)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofyfoot2001 View Post
I had to clean and stretch the springs in that daggum switch several times before it was right. There's not much else to the system.
yea, I seen that in the switch. but as I said, its working, as I get power to the pin 11 (if I recall correctly) on the j box. Just not getting power to the solenoid reliably.

I suppose as a last resort I can were the start button directly to the solenoid and therefore bypass all the safety switches
michiganteddybear is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
I have a spare JB...Pm me if you are interested in swapping yours out for cost of a relay.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 10:37 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganteddybear View Post
yea, I seen that in the switch. but as I said, its working, as I get power to the pin 11 (if I recall correctly) on the j box. Just not getting power to the solenoid reliably.

I suppose as a last resort I can were the start button directly to the solenoid and therefore bypass all the safety switches
From the wiring diagrams it looks like it's either the ignition switch or kill switch. Maybe a bad wire but unlikely.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: (5)
 
I havnt pulled my jb yet.. can they be repaired/rebuilt? or are they a sealed unit?
michiganteddybear is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 01:13 PM
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganteddybear View Post
I havnt pulled my jb yet.. can they be repaired/rebuilt? or are they a sealed unit?
yes they are sealed but if you aint skeerd you can open it up and re place the relay it is a push thru soldered in relay

Quote:
Originally Posted by denny6006 View Post
Sucks getting old but it beats not getting old.

i got my helmet but it sure makes licking the windows a chore

cell phone number for anyone who needs it 214-516-1738

photobucket link
http://s1066.photobucket.com/user/newrider9984/library/
new rider 9984 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganteddybear View Post
I havnt pulled my jb yet.. can they be repaired/rebuilt? or are they a sealed unit?
they are intended to be a sealed unit, but you can carefully open them up and replace the relay if you have the skills to unsolder and replace them.

I have a spare that I have been swapping good ones to members for the cost of the relay. I then replace the relay and test it to keep around till the next member needs one.

there are several part numbers that are interchangeable with the VN750. The internals are all the same board and relays/diodes, but the part numbers reflect different fuses used in the fuse holder. The inside of the fuse compartment cover basically has a different sticker on it.

Last edited by kc2dgq; 10-01-2013 at 01:33 PM.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: (5)
 
may take you up on the offer kc. need to determine for sure if its internal or external to it..

im not afraid to do the job myself, but I cant afford to be without the bike, as its my only transporation. I have the skills and equipment to do the work, just dont need to cut my throat on a simple error during the rebuild of it (as I would likely do these days)
michiganteddybear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome