Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 53 (permalink) Old 08-17-2013, 02:40 AM Thread Starter

Headlight issue?

I'm really new at this, so if this is a stupid question, I apologize ahead of time.

When I set my light dimmer switch to the low beam setting, the headlight dims to about the brightness of parking lights on a car, and the headlight failure light comes on. If I set the switch to somewhere between Hi and Lo, the failure light shuts off, and the headlight seems to be lit at about the regular low beam brightness. If I set the switch to Hi, the high beam light comes on as normal, and the headlight seems to be as bright as the high beam should be.

My question is, is this normal? What I gather from reading the manual is that this is not normal. My VN is from 1998 and I bought it used. Could it be the result of a mod the previous owner did?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 53 (permalink) Old 08-17-2013, 02:45 AM
Prowling Tiger

No, should have low beams when set to low and hi-beams when set to high. No middle setting. Sounds something wrong with switch contacts or the wiring.

I only understand what I don't understand.
post #3 of 53 (permalink) Old 08-17-2013, 07:38 AM

Garage
It sounds to me like your bulb is bad....low beam may be burned out.
The Reserve Lightning Unit is using your high beam element at half brightness to cover the low beam....because the low beam is burned out.

This is normal....the RLU was designed to do this so you would still have some light when the bulb burns out.....replace the bulb.

As far as having any contacts or lights with the switch in the half between hi and low.....that is not how it was intended to be used.....that is just an incidental observation.

post #4 of 53 (permalink) Old 08-17-2013, 09:37 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post