Sparkplug question - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)
 
Sparkplug question

OK, so I am not new to wrenching, having worked on my own Jeeps for the last 35+ years. I am however new to bikes and just want to make sure I got this right.

While trying not to go crazy awaiting the parts I need to get the bike back on the road, I decided to do a little preventative maintenance and replace the sparkplugs. Got a set of new NGK iridiums, pulled the first plug, installed the new one and torqued it down to 144 in-lbs. Was feeling pretty good until I tried to put the wire back on. Just didn't want to seat no matter what I tried. So finally I look down at the old plug on the floor and notice that the threads on the end are bare. Now I am thinking, oh crap the little metal thingie must be stuck up inside the boot. Turns out when I pulled the other three plugs, none of them had that metal piece either. So I pull the new plug, remove the metal piece, re-install it and the boot snaps right on.

So am I right in thinking that the plug wires on the Vulcan are intended to be used on the bare threads of the sparkplugs? If so, that is a totally new one for me.
Joe in PA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 10:58 AM
R/R = Relocated Redneck
 
Jakzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: N. Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
iTrader: (5)
 
Yes sir, you are correct. No little metal thingies on the ends of our spark plugs. I'm not entirely sure why (maybe a vibration/contact thing), but if I had to guess, it's the Japanese telling the rest of the world that having a big end on your plug isn't always necessary....

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App



Mods
Voltmeter/clock/temperature gauge
HD Electra Glide Fairing
Earshave/Coastered/CA emissions - gone...
R/R relocated
Nightster seat
Tombstone taillight
Drag specialties turn signals relocated
Sportster progressive shocks... Dropped rear 1 1/2"
Progressive Fork Springs dropped front 1"
NGK plug wires and iridium plugs
Coil Relay Mod
Paint
ACCT to MCCT
Honda Rebel luggage rack
VN800 Handlebars & controls
Screamin Eagle mufflers
F&S Engine Guard & Kury highway pegs

Last edited by Jakzen; 08-16-2013 at 11:02 AM.
Jakzen is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakzen View Post
..... it's the Japanese telling the rest of the world that having a big end on your plug isn't always necessary....
Very nicely played!
Joe in PA is offline  
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 05:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Now, ya see...I put automotive wires on mine, and they require the tips...the tips, btw, cannot be purchased separately easily....

What many dont know too, is there is a resistor inside the stock NGK plug wire end...looks like the old style glass buss fuse...I removed mine and replaced with a piece of steel bolt the same length...I run stock NGK plugs...tried the Iridiums, and saw no difference....mebbe because I removed the resistors....but I run fine on stock...

Resistor plugs and wires lower the intensity of a spark, from what Ive been told...now, resistor stuff was designed to stop interference with AM radio, and lowband TV broadcast, which I bet only those in Kamchatka, Iceland, and the Northwest Territories might still use...




Last edited by Wolfie; 08-16-2013 at 05:06 PM.
Wolfie is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)
 
Well if anyone ever needs those little metal thingies, I got 4 brand new ones sitting atop the toolbox in the garage.

Old plugs didn't look half bad, maybe showing signs of running a little rich. Figured I'd do all the "normal" stuff (oil, coolant, final drive fluid, air filters, sparkplugs, couple cans of seafoam) as it is "new" to me. I ain't too sure the previous owner (oldest girl) ever did any maintenance on the bike. You try to raise em right but some times they just don't listen.
Joe in PA is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 05:44 PM
R/R = Relocated Redneck
 
Jakzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: N. Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
iTrader: (5)
 
I personally think that occasionally using seafoam is a good thing, especially if there's old gas in the carbs/tank/lines, but don't overdo it. I learned the hard way (as have some others here I think) about putting too much in the fuel. Do so and we may see you in a new thread asking why it's suddenly smoking and how to fix it...



Mods
Voltmeter/clock/temperature gauge
HD Electra Glide Fairing
Earshave/Coastered/CA emissions - gone...
R/R relocated
Nightster seat
Tombstone taillight
Drag specialties turn signals relocated
Sportster progressive shocks... Dropped rear 1 1/2"
Progressive Fork Springs dropped front 1"
NGK plug wires and iridium plugs
Coil Relay Mod
Paint
ACCT to MCCT
Honda Rebel luggage rack
VN800 Handlebars & controls
Screamin Eagle mufflers
F&S Engine Guard & Kury highway pegs
Jakzen is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)
 
Only put 1/4 can in each tank full. Figure the can is sized for a "normal" car's gas tank of 12 to 20 gallons. Hope it won't be too much of a problem.
Joe in PA is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 06:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
I'll take that fer payment fer the fork tubes, lol...youre the right Joe, eh ?....lol



Wolfie is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
iTrader: (0)
 
Yep I am the right Joe and I will be sure to leave the metal thingies behind when I pick up the tubes!
Joe in PA is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 06:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
"Metal thingies"....lol...thats sound so frickin lame, lolol....but what else do ya call em ????



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome