Ign lock only lets me start if I turn it past start & back - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2013, 01:20 PM Thread Starter
I.T. Analyst, Alpha Geek
 
FieroGT42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 157
iTrader: (2)
 
Ign lock only lets me start if I turn it past start & back

So this "new" bike I got has a fiddly ignition switch. I have to go past start and then back sometimes before it will let me start. Is this common? Is there an easy fix other than swapping in a new switch? Is the switch separate from the lock? I'd hate to have to re-key it. Thanks.

Jason
FieroGT42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2013, 01:35 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,747
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Take it apart and clean it.....not that hard to do.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2013, 08:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)
 
Same Issue on my '89

I just bought an '89 does the exact same thing. If I ever get a day off, I will try cleaning as recommended. Let us know how you make out. Tim
TimLoon is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
I.T. Analyst, Alpha Geek
 
FieroGT42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 157
iTrader: (2)
 
And then it just cuts out the ignition on me in the middle of a turn. That's never happened before. I think I'll clean it tomorrow..
FieroGT42 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 09:15 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,747
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Check the connections while you got it out. One member found a loose wire that was just intermitantly making contact. He re-soldiered the entire switch.
Be careful taking it apart there are tiny springs in there I think.....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 10:04 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (1)
 
Make sure you ever so slightly stretch the little springs inside. That's what I had to do after cleaning the first time and it failing again. Now it seems good. The bike used to just turn OFF and random times and at 60mph in traffic, kinda scary.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,352
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
HERE is a link that shows you where to find the writeup in the Verses section as well as a link to photos.
This should explain it as well as give you tips....there are tiny springs in the switch pod...be careful not to lose them when you open it up.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 08:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)
 
All is good now

Followed the instructions on this board for cleaning the ignition switch and all works well. Thanks for the help. Tm
TimLoon is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-20-2013, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,352
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
good to hear it helped....that is why we are here.

The Verses section should be your go-to place for most issues....lots of great info in there.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-20-2013, 08:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)
 
Next is the shaft lube

Previous owner admittedly let some maintenance go. Next onto the shaft lube and antifreeze changeover. Thanks for the guidance.
TimLoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome