Help ! Main Fuse Blows - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Coastal Ga..... Darien
Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)
 
Help ! Main Fuse Blows

1986 Model - Bike will crank and idle for indefinite period. As soon as you put the bike in gear and roll about 30 or 40 feet, it blows the main 30 amp fuse. We can bounce the bike, rev the engine, fan can run, lights and blinkers are fine, horn and flashers are no problem as long as it is still. Only when the bike moves does it blow the fuse.
Grits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 11:56 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
can you turn the handlebars from side to side without blowing the fuse?
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Coastal Ga..... Darien
Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimvulcanrider View Post
can you turn the handlebars from side to side without blowing the fuse?
Yes, I've turned the handlebars all the way in both directions many times.
I had already been searching this site and found that possibility. I've taken the right side plastic cover off and all wiring looks new....I moved the wires around and I don't think that's the problem.
Today, I'm gonna leave the seat off, put it in gear and walk beside it as I work the clutch.....
Any more ideas?
Grits is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
does this year have that auto cancelling blinkers? could it be something in the tach?

go after anything that is motion related first by unplugging them and see if it cures the blowing fuse issue.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 11:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,190
iTrader: (0)
 
Kick stand, dunno. What ever it turns out, it will be interesting. It also will be a really high amperage dead short.
wmsonta is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Coastal Ga..... Darien
Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)
 
Thanks....We're trying everything we can think of.......
I just bought two thousand 30A fuses!!

I need any ideas you may have.....
Grits is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 03:16 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I would check the accessory leads in the headlight bucket and behind the right side cover... They might be vibrating while you move

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 04:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Coastal Ga..... Darien
Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimvulcanrider View Post
I would check the accessory leads in the headlight bucket and behind the right side cover... They might be vibrating while you move

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Thanks...
We just blew another 30A fuse.....
...Cranked it up with the seat off and tried to walk beside it using the clutch.
Made it about 20 feet...we can hear the fuse pop even with the engine running.
It will run all day if if it's not rolling.....next is to push (roll) it without putting it in gear or needing the clutch....but raining now.....
Grits is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 04:53 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Try just turning the key on and pushing the bike... Or better yet, just spun the front tire

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 04:54 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I wonder if your Speedo cable is worn through in the gauge housing and making contact with one of the wires... Might try to pull the gauge assembly apart to have a look

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome