Turn Signal Cancellation on 86 Vn 750? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Question Turn Signal Cancellation on 86 Vn 750?

If I've done my sleuthing properly, it seems that Kaw put a turn signal cancellation unit only on the 86 models. Does anyone know if this is true? If so, and one were to search for the proper used part, would one look for the relay? (I realize that there are companies that sell these kinds of units, but I thought that while I was looking, I'd make sure I was looking at the right thing.)

C
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 07:58 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
I think there is some extra unit needed. IIRC, the wiring harness is different due to the extra part.

Maybe this part ??? Only used on '86 - '89, although the Vulcan history says the '89 didn't have them?
Description SWITCH,TURN SIGNAL OP
Price $89.64
P/N 27010-1153


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown

Last edited by hyperbuzzin; 02-25-2007 at 08:10 PM.
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperbuzzin View Post
I think there is some extra unit needed. IIRC, the wiring harness is different due to the extra part.
That could well be - I was thinking it was just a relay, and then a counter, but maybe not. And I actually tend not to forget to turn off my signals, I just thought it'd be cool to have a cancellation unit!

C
Crobins365 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 08:39 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
According to the differences throught the years.....

Wiring harness
- '85-'88 have a Turn Signal Control unit
- '89- up Turn Signal Control unit eliminated.

- '85-'88 are NOT interchangeable with 1989 and up
Won't work by leaving the signal circuit open


It was Ron Ayers website that said it was on the '89 also. But I don't have a clue.

The one mentioned in the Verses sounds good, but expensive at $110....
Signalminder from Kisan Technologies, Their address is: www.kisantech.com
Model #SM-3M


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Thanks, Hyper, that's great info about the wiring harnesses - I thought they were all interchangeable! Better see what I'm bidding on on eBay

I checked out the Kisan Tech ones - they look sweet, and the product also offers running lights, which is a great option. At $110, I really gotta think about it (definitely need one for my partner, who just totally forgets about the signal); I did see 'em (the SM-3M for our bikes) on eBay for $99, but shipping was nearly $17, so I imagine it all comes out in the wash.

On a completely different note, how ya comin' on the stator do-over?

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 09:07 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cheyenne Wyoming
Posts: 508
iTrader: (0)
 
I have the Kisan and have gone through 2 of them. ANYthing that shorts them out will destroy the electronics. I had the first one hooked up and a rough solder joint rubbed a hole and shorted. $100 down the drain. Make sure even if installing temporarily you use good heat shrink and seperate your slices by an inch. another route is to get some small conical springs, adjust them by cutting and install on each side of your TS switch slide. The springs will center the switch and turn your signals off when released.

Rckmtn
Dennis Huff
Cheyenne, Wy.
05 VN 750
KURYAKYN grips, helmet locks, and highway pegs
Spitfire windshield
Saddleman saddlebags/sissybar bag
Highwayman gelseat with Protac backrest
self canx turnsignals
Diamondstar headlight modulator
Jardine 2 into 2
MCC turn signal relocator and floorboards
Luggage rack
Extended passenger backrest
KURYAKYN LED voltmeter
Custom tank bra with analog clock
Snider paint protector on tank side
130 DB horns
rckmtn is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 09:24 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crobins365 View Post
On a completely different note, how ya comin' on the stator do-over?
Slower than I should be
I was hoping to get the frame I got from ebay cut up last weekend, but other things cut in line in front of that.

With the hopes of better weather on the way, I'd better get my butt in gear and get working on it.
But, with not having to do the engine pull, I'm thinking (hoping?!) it shouldn't take too long once I get into it.


Rckmtn, do ya think fuses would help in stopping the unit from shorting out?


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 10:40 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Yikes - that's all I need to do is flush money and mess up my electrical system! I think for the moment I'll fuhgetaboutit - sounds like on the risk/reward calculations, there's too much risk.

Sorry 'bout the slow stator re-do, Hyper, but that's the way with these things, huh? I waited all week for my replacement carb intake boots (a little "accident" befell the rear boot last week during the carb pull), and finally got 'em Friday. Hooray! But a winter storm was bearing in on DC, and I had to be here in CA to run some discussion groups with seniors starting tomorrow a.m. So had to move my flight up to yesterday afternoon, which meant no bike work. Brought along my Haynes carb manual and a book on motorcycle electronics/wiring, however, so I can do some book-learning at least!

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 10:59 PM
Growling at the World...
 
bulldog485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 561
iTrader: (3)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to bulldog485
I have self cancellation signals on my Nomad. Freaking love them... But the bad thing is that now when I'm on my VN750, I totally forget to turn off my signals...


Evan Breyn ~ The Bulldog
http://www.bulldogsbike.com
2006 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic FLHTCUI ~ The Big Black Bitch ~ 26,000 miles.
2002 Kawasaki Nomad 1500 ~ The Red Dog ~ Traded in at 22,000 miles of smiles (purchased new 10/05 / Traded in 6/12).
1990 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 ~ Black Betty ~ 34,999.7 miles
VROC ~v~ 485
McHenry County Road Pirates
Chicagoland, IL
bulldog485 is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2007, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Bulldog, are you using the Kisan Tech ones?

C
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome