LED turn signal HELP! - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 02:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
 
LED turn signal HELP!

First off I'm not an electrical guy. I bought all new after market LED signal lights. The back set was easy, plug and play. the front not so much. The LEDs only have 2 wires. My question is how do I make them into running lights as well? Can I add the third wire? If so where does it go?
SHAGGDOGG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 03:24 AM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Splice a wire from your tail light wire from under the seat.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
If the aftermarket ones you purchased is 2 wire, then you can't have running lights in them. The VN750 stock ones are 3 wire in front and 2 wire in back....only the front ones have running lights on the stock setup.
kc2dgq is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
 
I was wondering if I could solder the third wire on to the LED's to make them into running lights as well?
SHAGGDOGG is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 09:50 AM
R/R = Relocated Redneck
 
Jakzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: N. Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
iTrader: (5)
 
Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

X2 on the 2 wire vs 3 wire. When I put my lights on I used 3 wire on front and back. I spliced into the hot wire for the tail light for the rear running lights.



Mods
Voltmeter/clock/temperature gauge
HD Electra Glide Fairing
Earshave/Coastered/CA emissions - gone...
R/R relocated
Nightster seat
Tombstone taillight
Drag specialties turn signals relocated
Sportster progressive shocks... Dropped rear 1 1/2"
Progressive Fork Springs dropped front 1"
NGK plug wires and iridium plugs
Coil Relay Mod
Paint
ACCT to MCCT
Honda Rebel luggage rack
VN800 Handlebars & controls
Screamin Eagle mufflers
F&S Engine Guard & Kury highway pegs
Jakzen is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHAGGDOGG View Post
I was wondering if I could solder the third wire on to the LED's to make them into running lights as well?
not sure what you have, so altering the LED's on the aftermarket ones may not be possible.

Can you post a photo of what you are looking at so we understand your question?

I make a set for the stock housings, but mine are 2 separate sets of LED's for running lights and blinkers. I would need to look at yours to see if it is possible.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 01:00 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
KC, he is speaking perfectly good english, I fallow exactly what the OP has ben saying and is asking.

the OP has a set of LED Lights that have two wires, one for power and one ground. He wants to know if he can add in a second power wire so that the LED Light now has three wires to function as both a turnsignal and parking lamp at the same time (as in our stock incandescent bulbs).

to the OP
You can not simply solder in a new wire into an LED circuit to give both functions. On a thre wire LED Light there are actually two LEDs sharing a common ground. ore there will be a series of several LEDs for the Running Lights, and another series of several more LEDs for the Turn Signal Lights. Both of which would be in the same housing.

slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
I wanted to make sure I was interpreting the question properly.

If the OP thinks adding a single wire to an existing array of LED's would add another function to it, then the OP is incorrect.

Depending on the configuration of the lights, it MIGHT be possible to add another function without adding more LED's to the circuit.....but that is totally dependent on how it is made.

The photo Slim posted looks a lot like the ones I make for the rear when adding running lights.

The front ones are all AMBER and work like the rear ones when addding the running lights:
The center is RED and the outer is AMBER....two seperate arrays with different wires to them. On my boards, I can add Brake function to the center array by adding another wire and a diode....but that's because I designed them that way.

with the stock wiring on the back , mine are all amber and the whole board blinks.
kc2dgq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome