tachmeter won't work - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2006, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
 
tachmeter won't work

I bought a used bike that didn't have a working tachometer. Previous owner thought it was a loose wire. Went through all the wires and connections, all seemed fine. I'm getting full power so it's not the coil. Lights and temp gauge work fine, have deduced it is something faulty within the tach itself. Kaw wants $250 for a new one. Anyone have a source for a slightly used one, or if anyone can repair them? Or is this simply a throw it away and replace it instrument? Has anyone else had tach problems?

BTW, the needle does budge when you give it the gas, but it doesn't rise above 500. Thanks for any ideas.

mooneymadness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2006, 08:02 PM
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,280
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via AIM to Hizzo3 Send a message via Yahoo to Hizzo3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooneymadness View Post
I bought a used bike that didn't have a working tachometer. Previous owner thought it was a loose wire. Went through all the wires and connections, all seemed fine. I'm getting full power so it's not the coil. Lights and temp gauge work fine, have deduced it is something faulty within the tach itself. Kaw wants $250 for a new one. Anyone have a source for a slightly used one, or if anyone can repair them? Or is this simply a throw it away and replace it instrument? Has anyone else had tach problems?

BTW, the needle does budge when you give it the gas, but it doesn't rise above 500. Thanks for any ideas.

have you checked to make sure the tach is getting a good signal. if it is then the tach is bad. look on ebay, as the tach is non servicable

'04 Vn750
Currently Installed
nat'l cycle deflector shield
westco 12v30 MF, 30A/h w/ 350 CCA's w/ custom box
TOC stator cover w/ Frankenstator mod!
R/R relo

Soon to have (own or on order)
TOC ACCT's
Mez's 110-FRT 170/80-Rear
Custom rear fender and tail light
Givi hard bags w/ custom rear turn signals


Band Engineer/Webmaster for Josey Contreras Tejano Band
Hizzo3 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2006, 09:04 PM
Geek
 
rnewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 872
iTrader: (0)
 
Didn't Diana post something about giving it a shot of compressed air ?

Ron from Jersey
2005 VN750
HellFire windshield
Kaw extended backrest
Cobra exhaust
Re-located stator wires
Side bags
15,000 Miles July/2012
It's PAID OFF ! May 2009
rnewell is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-12-2006, 09:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
had this problem on a 93. pig tale behind head light was the problem. I couldn't plug it in all the way. push tale all the way then back if off a little. worked for me and still working.
93farley is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2006, 02:47 AM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnewell View Post
Didn't Diana post something about giving it a shot of compressed air ?
I think that was the speedometer.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll
Ironman is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2006, 02:51 AM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
You could get this and see if it works. http://tinyurl.com/y7o4os Cheaper than the dealer. The review seems a bit over enthusiastic though.---Got to thinking about it last night, because the ignition pickups work off the crankshaft, the spark plugs fire at the end of the exhaust stroke as well as when they're needed just before TDC. A tach that used the spark as reference wouldn't be accurate. Better to find one on E-bay that specifically says it's for our bike like Trashlord suggested.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll

Last edited by Ironman; 12-13-2006 at 10:34 AM.
Ironman is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2006, 08:58 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 699
iTrader: (1)
 
definitely look for it on ebay..if you do not see one listed, find someone that looks as if they are parting out the whole bike and email them.
TrashLord is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2006, 09:03 PM
Search Goddess
 
Dianna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 1,998
iTrader: (2)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnewell View Post
Didn't Diana post something about giving it a shot of compressed air ?
It was the speedometer that can get crudded up and the compressed air cleans it. The speedo is just a bunch of little gears and if one gets jammed (usually the speedo part not the odometer or tripometer) then the air or a firm whack will unjam it.
Never had a tach apart though but I believe they are more electronic then mechanical...

Dianna
Conway, AR
Patriot Guard Rider
2000 VN750 Sere (Serendipity)
1990 GL1500 (Ole Blue)
1986 VN750 EVie (project bike, heavy custom)
VROC # 11628 / 25000-H
ARVROC # 12 Coordinator and Crowd Control
OKVROC # 18 (H)
TNVROC # 45 (H)
Dianna is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2006, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Joem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 659
iTrader: (3)
 
Mine is the same way. Hasn't worked since I've owned it. If you buy a used one are they difficult to install?

JoeM
Joem is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2006, 01:59 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Sky Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)
 
If you aren't afraid of soldering wires together, it would just be a matter of cutting the wires and reconnecting them with the new tach. It you are not comfortable with this, you will have to trace each of the wires and find where it connects to the system. I don't think it has a central plug that you can disconnect the whole thing at once.

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08
New Stator installed 10 Jun08
Maintenance Free Battery 12Jan08
21480 Miles
VROC #8542
Sky Rider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome