Let's Invent Something - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,443
iTrader: (5)
   
Lightbulb Let's Invent Something

Looking for different ideas on how to clamp these wires in place on top of the transmission.

I'm relocating the stator leads and pickup coil wiring to the top of the trans. The wires get twisted and tortured down between the stator cover and bevel gear and should run cooler if routed over the top.

There's an empty loop or lifting eye toward the top/middle of the trans and I want to come up with something to hold the wires at that loop.

I know I could simply fold up a piece of metal and drill a bolt hole, or just zip-tie it all, but I thought we could brainstorm it and maybe come up with a manufactured piece that would work better and possibly suspend the wires an inch or so above the trans case.

I'll edit a pic or two into this post later when I have time.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 09:52 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,565
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
I'd just glue them down with a silicone adhesive. If you wanted them to stay off the cases you could just glue a piece of some thick wall tubing down first and run the wires through it.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,443
iTrader: (5)
   
Thumbs up

Not a bad idea, especially the insulating part, but that loop just seems so dang handy to bolt something onto. And bolting is more secure.

Originally, I thought I'd need to keep the wires toward the outside, and thought about using 6" long all-thread to put the hanger out where I want it, then use the original clamp on a top bolt of the bevel gear case, but I have plenty of wire to reach that loop and it doesn't add much length to put them in the middle.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
HardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Saranac, MI , USA
Posts: 195
iTrader: (0)
 
Machine a scaled down riser to bolt there and run the wires through where the handle bars would go on a full size riser.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
HardRock is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,443
iTrader: (5)
   
Aha, see, I just needed a kickstart.

Good idea, and got me thinking about an eyebolt.

The loop on the trans case is approx. 3/8" diameter, maybe 5/16", easy to find on your bike.

Gotta head to the mountains for my farm chores, be back tonight, but keep those ideers comin'!

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Just curious here......are we talking about the 3 yellow stator wires?
How long are you planning on making the wire run?

Heavier wire is ok, but we are talking AC signal here....longer wires will cause losses in the signal..especially since they are single wires and no shielding.

Consider that a (grounded) ferrous metal loop that a wire passes through also acts like a suppressor and might also deteriorate the signals....and could become magnetized as well.

just something to think about.....
kc2dgq is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 12:41 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post
Just curious here......are we talking about the 3 yellow stator wires?
How long are you planning on making the wire run?

Heavier wire is ok, but we are talking AC signal here....longer wires will cause losses in the signal..especially since they are single wires and no shielding.

Consider that a (grounded) ferrous metal loop that a wire passes through also acts like a suppressor and might also deteriorate the signals....and could become magnetized as well.

just something to think about.....
I agree 100 % ...and are true facts above.
Deterioration should not be significant enough to notice or cause problems.

Magnetization... maybe ever so slightly, but so what ? No harm.

WilliamTech +1
WilliamTech is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
HardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Saranac, MI , USA
Posts: 195
iTrader: (0)
 
If a metal loop is a concern machine the thing out of a high temp nylon or a similiar material.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
HardRock is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-25-2013, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,443
iTrader: (5)
   
Question

I know I could get one done in Teflon.

Not sure the wires would really be any longer. R/R is relocated to the left side cover, and instead of down/around the bevel gear case, it's going straight out of the stator cover, over the top to the hanger, then straight to the R/R.

Not sure I understand "AC signal", I normally associate shielded wire with audio/video. The current should make the trip, assuming my choice of wire gauge is ok. (posted a question about that) I do understand that long runs will cause losses in amperage, but no amount of shielding stops that, only heavier gauge wire, right?

So if I do rule out a metal hanger, maybe find the right cable clamp that can attach to the loop on the case, or to a bolt.

Aww hell, maybe I should just insulate and zip-tie the bundles to the loop?

*********
*********

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf

Last edited by Spockster; 05-25-2013 at 10:55 AM.
Spockster is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-25-2013, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,443
iTrader: (5)
   
Actually, I know the wires will be shorter by running them over the top.

I made the R/R leads to connect to the original stator leads, now with rerouting the wires, the R/R leads would reach the outside of the stator cover, instead of just making it to the original leads like it did with the old routing.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome