Stator Failures - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-16-2006, 05:53 PM Thread Starter

Stator Failures

As a newbie I don't want to beat a dead horse but has anyone been able to put their finger on the cause of these stator failures. Are there things I should avoid to prevent a failure? thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-16-2006, 07:09 PM
Uber Member

Send a message via AIM to Hizzo3 Send a message via Yahoo to Hizzo3
yes.. main cause is poor mantinance.... that is the leading cause of premature failure. anything after 10k is typically due to over heating, and breakdown of insulation on the windings.... i am addressing this in frankenstator that should be in production around march....

'04 Vn750
Currently Installed
nat'l cycle deflector shield
westco 12v30 MF, 30A/h w/ 350 CCA's w/ custom box
TOC stator cover w/ Frankenstator mod!
R/R relo

Soon to have (own or on order)
TOC ACCT's
Mez's 110-FRT 170/80-Rear
Custom rear fender and tail light
Givi hard bags w/ custom rear turn signals

Band Engineer/Webmaster for Josey Contreras Tejano Band
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-16-2006, 09:39 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Couple of other things, wet type battery which can lead to r/r failure which can lead to stator failure.

Mines gone, going to be replacing it shortly.

Get a good MF AGM type battery A S A P!

Jon

93VN750, under re-construction
vn750.com Member # 828

Rick's Stator and R/R
MF AGM Battery
Coastered
Degoated
Shaved & Jetted
Iridium's
MAC Tapered Staggered Pipes
Battery/Temp/Clock Gauge
Stainless Steel Brake Lines
Dunlop D-404's
23,XXX miles and holding pending gasket change (underway!!!)

post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-16-2006, 11:38 PM