New Volt Meter - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 08:21 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
chiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waynesboro, VA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
New Volt Meter

Got my new $19.95 volt meter from racetechelectric.com installed...nice. They have 2 different faces, black and silver. The silver looks like OEM equipment on our bikes.
Super easy to install.(see pics)
For the positive lead I used an empty accessories terminal on the fuse box which is switched on with the ignition. This is close to the battery and gives accurate battery voltage readings. It's the second one down from the top. Stripped the insulation off a female crimp on spade terminal so it would fit in the connector. Inserted it into the empty terminal hole in the fuse box connector then grounded the negative end on a chassis bolt. (see red arrows) Ran wires behind the dash panel, under the tank and back to the fuse box. Attached the meter with some super weatherstrip adhesive. No more guessing what my charging system is doing.

note: the electrical connector that plugs into the fuse box will only allow the individual wire terminals to go in 1 way. Look inside the plug to see which way it goes. The OEM wire terminals in the connector have lock tabs to keep them from backing out of the connector while plugging into the fuse box...the generic terminal I used (in the photo) does not. So once you push the connector into the fuse box, use something like a small screw driver to push the volt meter positive terminal back into the connector and into the fuse box mating terminal.

note#2: I tried using a relay instead of the direct off the accessories connection mentioned above. It gave me a much better reading on this meter...more accurate. Seemed to have some voltage drop when running through just the ignition accessories from the fuse box. I used instead the accessories to "switch" the relay and the LIVE battery accessories wires supplied from Kaw under the right side cover. A $4 relay from Advance auto worked great. Confused? PM me and I'd be happy to supply help and pics!

Click image for larger version

Name:	pic2.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	6426

Click image for larger version

Name:	pic3.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	64.8 KB
ID:	6434

Last edited by chiller; 05-16-2013 at 04:57 PM.
chiller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas Area
Posts: 922
iTrader: (4)
 
Pretty cool man. Did you attach it to the dash panel or the handlebar clamp/cover?



Old Bike: 2006 VN750 - Sold

Current Bike: 2007 Yamaha V-Star 1300 Tourer
eusjma is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 12:54 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by eusjma View Post
Pretty cool man. Did you attach it to the dash panel or the handlebar clamp/cover?
Good question, I too am curious, unable to tell by the pic.
tia
x2

'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
chiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waynesboro, VA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
It's attached to the handle bar clamp. That adhesive works very well. Got it from Advance auto in 1oz. tube for about $4. Only took a smidgen!
chiller is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
chiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waynesboro, VA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Roughed up the bottom of the meter and the handle bar clamp a little with scotch brite to give the adhesive something to grab on to. Used electrical tape to hold the meter in place while the adhesive setup over night.
chiller is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 07:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Nice !!!!!.....



Wolfie is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-04-2013, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,445
iTrader: (5)
   
Can't find that one on their site, they show this digital one for $37.99, I still need one:

http://racetechelectric.com/i-852115...olt-meter.html

And this LED one for $44.95:

http://racetechelectric.com/i-856156...olt-meter.html
Spockster is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2013, 05:06 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
chiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waynesboro, VA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Try here:
http://racetechelectric.com/i-905268...voltmeter.html

Ask for silver or black...may need to call them to request.
chiller is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2013, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,445
iTrader: (5)
   
And there it is, thanks!
Spockster is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-18-2013, 06:48 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
chiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waynesboro, VA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Having connected up my volt meter, I noticed a substantial voltage drop to the meter, most likely because the fuse box accessory plug I used is switched through the ignition switch. Soooo...I installed a relay. Using the always hot (+-) leads under the right side cover to the relay and using the switched accessory terminal from the fuse box to turn it on. I connected the volt meter to the relay output and now have zero drop. I get the same meter reading using the relay as I do connecting the meter directly to the battery. Relay was under $5 from Advance Auto.
chiller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome