Determined to get tach working - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-28-2013, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)
 
Determined to get tach working

The needle bounces a little bit. No real movement when I rev it. Bounces erratically when idles, up to 3000 and down, but no real reading. Checked all connections, cleaned and greased. Also check black to the coil and greased it. Still same thing. I did notice when I was taking it apart the metal bracket is broke, thought it was just loose, so I put a washer in it to stiffen it.. Obviously was hit. Temp gauge is fine, so do I need to replace the tach? How can I tell if it is the coil? Seems to be running fine. I am so confused.
jgerrard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-28-2013, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
if the front jug is firing, and the coil is working, I think the tach is fried.
It runs off the electrical signal from the front coil. If you are sure all the connections are good, then it might be a problem internal to the tach housing.

I don't think they are repairable, but then again I never opened one to try.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-12-2013, 04:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Riverton, UT
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
The needle bounces a little bit. No real movement when I rev it. Bounces erratically when idles, up to 3000 and down, but no real reading.
You've described my tach exactly...please keep us informed once you do find the solution, be it a fix or a new tach.
brianhardy is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 01:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
What KC stated is 100% correct. Check all the wiring in between...if it ends up that it IS the actual tach, then any electronic/digital tach will work....all it basically does is measure the number of timees a cyl sparks/min vs the old style mechanical, which ran off a gear that measured crankshaft revolutions.



Wolfie is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 03:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Riverton, UT
Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)
 
Any recommendations on a new tach? Just wondering what works well/ looks good on our bikes?

MODS SO FAR...
Earshave/K&N pods
140/40 jets
Stator Redo by TPE
R/R Re-location
Pick-up coil mod
Corbin Seat
Kury Iso Grips
brianhardy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome