Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-12-2013, 08:17 PM Thread Starter

Crank Shaft sensor.

Hi to all,

So last December my bike decided to pack up with an electrical problem. It`s only firing on the rear cylinder and the tachometer flickers at 0 revs. I finally took it to an electrician and while testing the bike`s wiring he said that it must be one of the crank shaft sensors as there is current going to the coil but there is no firing pulse. He said that he has to take the whole stator cover out for it to be changed. From what I know from you folks here I figured out that then the whole engine must be pulled or lifted and he said that there was no need for this. I am no expert but can anyone shed some light as I cannot understand where these sensors can be and how on earth can he get to them without pulling the engine if the stator cover has to be removed......

Regards, Alan

89` Vulcan 750 - a.k.a HellRaiser

Last edited by malteser66; 04-12-2013 at 08:19 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-13-2013, 06:45 AM

Garage
Haven't heard of that before, maybe someone else will chime in. Usually if the tach is jumping it's more of a grounding issue.

"Show me a man who makes no mistakes, and I'll show you a man who doesn't do things." Theodore Roosevelt."

2007 Victory Kingpin
Current projects - 1986 VN750 & 1988 EL250
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-13-2013, 06:50 AM
Old Truck Junkie

Remove the cover that has the three phillips screw on it. Also check the connections on the front coil first. It is behind the neck covers. Hope this helps you.

02 honda sabre 1100

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-13-2013, 09:24 AM

Garage