Stators....Does anybody know... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 11:57 AM Thread Starter
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Stators....Does anybody know...

I am about ready to send my stator in for a heavy duty rewind.
It was still functioning when my engine went to H*LL, ......upon tear down, I discovered a few of the stator plates had shifted (has become out of alignment) in/on one section.

QUESTION: Do they rewind my Stator, or send me another (already) rewound stator ?
Is my stator repairable/rewindable ?

any thoughts will be appreciated.
thanks in advance
WilliamTech

Last edited by WilliamTech; 03-11-2013 at 12:28 PM.
WilliamTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 12:14 PM
Jack of all trades
 
M_Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Westland, Michigan
Posts: 2,863
iTrader: (11)
 
It really depends on the shop. I've seen some that wind on demand and some that have inventory. If they already have one, that's good for you because its less turnaround time.
M_Angell is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,444
iTrader: (5)
   
I read somewhere... If you contact TPE you can send pics and they'll tell you if it looks like they can rewind your stator or if it's good enough to use as a core.
Spockster is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-12-2013, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spockster View Post
I read somewhere... If you contact TPE you can send pics and they'll tell you if it looks like they can rewind your stator or if it's good enough to use as a core.

Posted pics of my damaged Stator in my album of "Damaged Balance Gear.....
Examining the construction of stator, I would think this stator IS rewindable.....


Last edited by WilliamTech; 03-12-2013 at 01:28 PM.
WilliamTech is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-12-2013, 11:58 PM
Linkmeister Supreme
 
OlHossCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 7,960
iTrader: (8)
   
Are you sending it to Tim Parrott?

I asked a local rewind shop what it would cost to rewind mine.
It would have cost $2-300. About twice as much as a new one from a dealer.
TPE would still be the best deal even for me up here north of the 49th.

Gordon

1991 VN 750 -"Cosmic Lady" or "Bad Girl"?
Purchased May 16, 2008
Approx.19,300km (12,000 miles)

H-D windshield
Relocated R/R
MF-AGM battery
Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns
F&S luggage rack and engine guard
Kury Offset Hiway pegs
July 13, 2016, Riding on the DARKSIDE now, Classic Radial 165/80-15


TOP TEN THINGS A NEW RIDER/OWNER SHOULD DO. Click on link.
https://www.vn750.com/forum/11-vn750-general-discussion/9127-top-ten-items-you-would-suggest-new-owner-do-his-new-ride.html
OlHossCanada is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
shark88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central, PA
Posts: 2,484
iTrader: (27)
 
Garage
I spoke to TPE last year about my buddys stator, I'm pretty sure you send it in and you get the same one back, although I believe he does have some ready to go too.

"Show me a man who makes no mistakes, and I'll show you a man who doesn't do things." Theodore Roosevelt."

2007 Victory Kingpin
Current projects - 1986 VN750 & 1988 EL250
shark88 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
looking at the photos...IMO it is not useable...but I am no expert.

I wouldn't feel comfortable re-using that one since the end plates are deformed. It could start another chain reaction if a piece hits or comes loose in there.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post
looking at the photos...IMO it is not useable...but I am no expert.

I wouldn't feel comfortable re-using that one since the end plates are deformed. It could start another chain reaction if a piece hits or comes loose in there.
Yeah, I don't think I'll chance it with a Rewind. I do have another Stator to send TPE.

Next question... I desire to obtain TPE's High Output Stator...

Will the stock R/R handle the High Output Stator ?

tia
WilliamTech is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamTech View Post
Next question... I desire to obtain TPE's High Output Stator...

Will the stock R/R handle the High Output Stator ?

tia
That is sort of a subjective question William...in theory it should.
The R/R will shunt what is not used....so it depends on how much extra output you get from the high output stator, and if you are adding any loads to require the extra output.

If you add amperage from the stator, the regulator will be required to "shunt" more power if you are not using the extra power as added accessories. This will cause the R/R to run hotter....not sure of the limits of the shunting ability of the stock stator. but it will obviously cause some stress.

What is your setup...meaning:
What is the extra amperage you are adding
What added items have you added to the stock system in the way of current draw?

If you balance the added power with added current draw, then you should be fine.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post
That is sort of a subjective question William...in theory it should.
The R/R will shunt what is not used....so it depends on how much extra output you get from the high output stator, and if you are adding any loads to require the extra output.

If you add amperage from the stator, the regulator will be required to "shunt" more power if you are not using the extra power as added accessories. This will cause the R/R to run hotter....not sure of the limits of the shunting ability of the stock stator. but it will obviously cause some stress.

What is your setup...meaning:
What is the extra amperage you are adding
What added items have you added to the stock system in the way of current draw?

If you balance the added power with added current draw, then you should be fine.
My thoughts:
When replacing the Stator, why not replace with a Heavy Duty/High Output one.
I have a gxtreme manufactured Tuxedo Style Stator Mod plate to install as well..
In time, I will be adding two more driving/headlights, (KC's light Bar) but do intend to go all LED tail & turn lights. I have an Air Horn as well.


Last edited by WilliamTech; 03-13-2013 at 03:19 PM.
WilliamTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome