Headlight problems need help - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kemen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)
 
Headlight problems need help

My headlight will not come on until the bike is hot. I checked all the fuses and all the connections and everything seems to be good. Need help please!!
kemen3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 09:51 PM
romeobravo172
 
romeobravo172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Leesburg,Fl
Posts: 842
iTrader: (18)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to romeobravo172
Are you saying that it dosn't come on until the bike gets up to operating temp?

04-3,200 miles bought July 2011 with 928 miles. Loaded with acessories to many to list here, see my albums for more details! I also make a custom tank bib specific for the 750 if anyone is interested, ck my albums for some pics.
romeobravo172 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kemen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Headlight problems need help

You have to drive around for quite a bit for it to actually pop on.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Motorcycle.com Free App
kemen3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 10:18 PM
romeobravo172
 
romeobravo172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Leesburg,Fl
Posts: 842
iTrader: (18)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to romeobravo172
Sounds like you have a faulty delay switch, sorry don't know the teck name for it.

04-3,200 miles bought July 2011 with 928 miles. Loaded with acessories to many to list here, see my albums for more details! I also make a custom tank bib specific for the 750 if anyone is interested, ck my albums for some pics.
romeobravo172 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 10:42 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by romeobravo172 View Post
Sounds like you have a faulty delay switch, sorry don't know the teck name for it.
kemen3:

It ist a switch of sorts, it is a (delay) relay.
The relay does not allow the headlight to turn on until energized.
The relay is energized with an output (one leg of) from the stator, (w/engine running) energizing relay, allowing (turning on) power to your headlight.
Obviously, if your stator is is not 100 %...you have a problem.
To resolve your problem, I would check/re-solder/replace connectors (3 stator legs) as necessary concerned with Stator.
If the above does not resolve the problem, replace the relay. I believe a replacement of the Junction Box would resolve the defective relay problem.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.


Last edited by WilliamTech; 02-19-2013 at 11:23 PM.
WilliamTech is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 11:13 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemen3 View Post
My headlight will not come on until the bike is hot. I checked all the fuses and all the connections and everything seems to be good. Need help please!!
Bypass the headlight relay. In the junction box there is a 10 pin connector. Take the blue wire out of slot #8 and put it in the empty slot next to it, # 10 I believe. This should solve your problem. The headlight will turn on as soon as the ignition switch is turned on.

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier
JM2001 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 11:47 PM
Prowling Tiger
 
blazblu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,048
iTrader: (4)
 
Ok, here's what you do:

1.) Tilt head back
2.) Apply some eye drops in each headlamp
3.) Blink a few times
4.) ???
5.) Profit!

Hope this helps

blazblu82 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-20-2013, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
it sounds to me like the relay is working, but has dirty contacts that won't allow a good connection until vibrations force it to make contact.

I would check your stator wires and make sure you have a good signal out put on all three legs (yellow wires) that WilliamTech metioned...just to be sure your stator is fine.

If that checks out OK, you can bypass the relay like Jm2001 mentioned. that is a good no cost fix, but the downside is that the light would be drawing current when you turn the key. This might drain the battery a little faster when you are cranking the starter.

.....OR you could replace either the Junction Box or have it repaired by replacing the relay inside.

I think NewRider was offering to replace the relays for a fee.

I also have a spare JB that I can send you for the cost of the shipping and the relay if you are willing to send me yours in return. I will just fix the bad one and keep it as my spare.

You have a few options....hope this helps.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-20-2013, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kemen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Headlight problems need help

I will definitely try all those steps. Thanks everyone for the advice. If those don't work I will get with you kc2dgq to get 1 of those boards. Thanks

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Motorcycle.com Free App
kemen3 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-20-2013, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kemen3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Headlight problems need help

kc2dgq what is the best way to test those 3 wires? Does the bike have to be running or off?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Motorcycle.com Free App
kemen3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome