Oil and gauge lights on but... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2012, 01:16 PM Thread Starter

Oil and gauge lights on but...

Hello everyone.
I need help. I'm a newbie that has been using the forum as the great tool that it is and its gotten me this far. But now i'm just frustarted with this bike.

alittle background
the black 1989 bike was given to me by a friend at work. He bought it and let it sit for 20yrs. has 4000miles on it. told me i just need a new carb and it'll be fine... haha

Long story short- i spent the summer afternoons after work playing with her and cleaning her up. bought a carb, petcock and ears on ebay since they were missing. wasn't confident in taking on the ear shave yet.

Anyways i finally got to the point where i'm ready to fire her up.
I haven't invest in the maintanace free battery yet that everyone swears by since i wanted to make sure she starts before i keep emptying my pockets

So i hooked up jumper cables from my car(while it was off)
pushed the red switch to the run postions, and turned the key to the on position
The Oil light came on and the green Neutral light came on
I hit the start button and she growled at me!!

This pleased me.. so i kept trying- carbs had fuel, saw spark when i pulled the plugs and kept trying. played with the choke alittle and kept hitting start. Then i heard a little pop sound(sounded like the front cylinder)

I thought she was getting closer to starting so i pushed the start button again and nothing happened at all! The lights were still on. Although i did notice the neutral wasn't on like it was before and i didn't put it in gear or anything. DOn't know what that means. don't know if i burnt my starter out or what?