Ignition Switch Problem - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
originalbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Thumbs down Ignition Switch Problem

I bought a used '98 Vulcan750 over a year ago. Since then its been one little problem after another. I replaced r/r using a '94 750 i bought for parts. Now its a new problem. My bike starts fine but when I switch the key to the run position the bike dies immediately. Turned it back to START pos. and went for a spin, after riding for 2 -3 minutes I realized bike wasn't in RUN pos. turned key and bike died again. checked KILL switch its on run. kickstand is up. been trying to do fix this problem for last week or two. Anyone have ideas?
originalbat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
originalbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Still fiddling with bike. Wanted to add... when I switch key to RUN pos. and riding twisting the throttle doesn't do anything.
originalbat is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 02:15 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalbat View Post
I bought a used '98 Vulcan750 over a year ago. Since then its been one little problem after another. I replaced r/r using a '94 750 i bought for parts. Now its a new problem. My bike starts fine but when I switch the key to the run position the bike dies immediately. Turned it back to START pos. and went for a spin, after riding for 2 -3 minutes I realized bike wasn't in RUN pos. turned key and bike died again. checked KILL switch its on run. kickstand is up. been trying to do fix this problem for last week or two. Anyone have ideas?


My Ignition key has "Lock, Off, On, & Park" switch positions. No "Run".
My Kill Switch has "Off" & "Run"

a little confused here...

WilliamTech

'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Ceal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,687
iTrader: (2)
 
Have you thought about leaving it in the "start" position? If I understand your post right, I think that's the way it's supposed to work!

1985 VN700 unknown mileage (over 33K)

AGM Battery
Iridium spark plugs
NGK wires and caps
Relocated R/R
Marbled
Ceal is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 384
iTrader: (-3)
 
The key is supposed to be in the run position. You turn it to the run position, then hit your starter button.
These are a little bit different to a cars ignition switch. Our bikes don't have a momentary starter switch in the key switch itself.
Please don't take any offense from any of us, we aren't saying anything bad towards you.
I tried that the first time I had a bike with a key switch.
TSmith68 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 03:03 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamTech View Post
My Ignition key has "Lock, Off, On, & Park" switch positions. No "Run".
My Kill Switch has "Off" & "Run"

a little confused here...

WilliamTech
X2 Just leave the switch in " on " position and hit the starter button.

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier
JM2001 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
originalbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Thanks for all the help. I feel I need to clarify. After reading the posts I went re-look at my bike. It seems I've been starting my bike between the OFF and the RUN position. Bike starts fine, even operates in that key position; however, unless I switch to RUN i have no turn signals, no lights at all. Is it possible to re-wire my lights and turn signals to use a toggle switch to get them on?
originalbat is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 06:12 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (8)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalbat View Post
Thanks for all the help. I feel I need to clarify. After reading the posts I went re-look at my bike. It seems I've been starting my bike between the OFF and the RUN position. Bike starts fine, even operates in that key position; however, unless I switch to RUN i have no turn signals, no lights at all. Is it possible to re-wire my lights and turn signals to use a toggle switch to get them on?
How about just rebuilding and cleaning the switch.....
there is a thread on it here someplace....
dariv is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 11:04 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
originalbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Thanks

Again, thanks for the help and advice. It will be a weekend or two but i'll repost when i'm done
originalbat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome