Wiring Loom/Harness - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-20-2012, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)
 
Wiring Loom/Harness

Hi Guys,

After spending lots of time and money on my Vulcan 750 its now come to this!

There is a major short in the wiring loom causeing the bike to try and start on its own or a complete and total loss of electrical power.

whoever had the bike before me has arsed up the loom no end by cutting in to it and putting in "scotchblocks".

So,, has anyone any tips for putting in a full new loom, I have already managed to get one from the US it should be here in the uk in the next few weeks

And yes, I already heard that one "scrap the F***er", lol

Cheers
Chris Mcr UK
Chris.Mcr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-20-2012, 03:51 PM
1986 VN750
 
thtanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dana Point, CA
Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (8)
 
Garage
The wiring harness shouldn't be too difficult to swap out. Tank will need to come off as it runs under the tank, over the airbox. Other than that just trace all leads and plan before actually doing anything. Easy peezy.

1986 Kawasaki Vulcan 750
NGK Iridium Plugs #7803/DPR7EIX-9
Duralast Gold ETX15 AGM Battery
Coastered & Shaved
TOC MCCTs
Metzeler ME880 [110/90-19, 170/80-15]
Balance Dampers Replaced
Tuxedo Mod
Rebuilt Forks w/ Progressive Springs
V&H Cruzers
VN750.com Grill Cover
Meanstreak Seat
Emgo 23-92411 Handlebars
MOSFET FH012AA R/R


1990 Kawasaki Vulcan 750

1998 Honda VFR800 FI

2014 Honda VFR800F

1989 Pontiac Firebird Formula 350
thtanner is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-20-2012, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)
 
(thtanner) Wiring

Really!!!
, I thought it may be an engine out jobbie

good job you dont have a workshop in Manchester uk, I'd have my own parkin space! lol.

Thanks for that I'll have a go soon as newone arrives!

Cheers

Ride safe.

Chris
uk
Chris.Mcr is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-20-2012, 06:55 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I have replaced sevearl wiring harnesses on the VN750 with out pulling the engine. just make sure to take your time and pay attention to what all the different connectors look like
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-2012, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
 
Use your camera and take piccys so you can have a reference to look at.
Swagman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
electrical , engine , fault , starting problem , wiring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome