Engine misfires/sputters and tach shows zero RPM - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-29-2012, 02:37 PM Thread Starter

Engine misfires/sputters and tach shows zero RPM

Hello,

I have a problem with a '94 VN750 that I have had just a year. At the end of last season it started exhibiting this problem, and it continues this year. I am relatively new to bikes so I could really use some advice in figuring out where to go with this:

The bike will start just fine. It can go 10 minutes, 10 miles, or 100 miles and run like a champ and out of the blue it will start to misfire and sputter, I can't get the revs up, and I pretty much have to pull over. The engine will sometimes backfire, and I catch a strong smell of unburnt or incompletely burnt fuel. It doesn't happen every time I take it out, but often enough that I stick close to home just in case.

In the past, when this has happened, the "remedy" would be to shut it down and wait a minute, when I start it back up it is fine again, until next time.

Today when it occurred I happened to notice that the tach read zero RPMs...the engine was obviously running, it had enough power to get me over onto a side road off the main highway, so the engine was revving but the tach didn't think so. After I started it back up (and it was running fine again) the tach operated normally.

Given these symptoms, does anyone have any guidance to provide?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Matt
Passaic County, NJ
1994 VN 750
April 2011- 30K miles
TOC MCCT 4/2012
New-to-me extended backrest 5/2012
Tourmaster bags 5/2012
Replaced driveshaft coupler and final drive-- ignored the spline lube recommendation too long and got burned 8/2012
Back on the Road 9/2012
De-POOGSed 6/2013
NGK Iridium Plugs 7/2013
New AGM battery 4/2014
Sponsored Links
Advertisement