Gremlins - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered Badass
 
Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
 
Red face Gremlins

There's gotta be gremlins in there! It's one of those days where I just want to part the thing out and be done with it. But my desire to ride keeps me pushing on.

Anyway, I put the key in the On position, put her in heutral, grab the clutch, press start and... I hear a single click of the starter relay and then nothing. All the lights go out and the voltage at the battery droms from 12.6 to 2 volts. It stays that way for about 10 seconds and then like magic, it jumps up to 12.6 again as if nothing ever happened. All the lights come back on and if I want to torture myself again I can press start and repeat the process.

A lil history can be found in this thread (https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20398) but I'll summarize it here:

The stator is bad. I've been using a charger to maintain the battery but for the past couple of weeks both the charger and R/R have been disconnected and the bike hasn't ran.

The R/R was replaced a month ago with a MOSFET but aside from running the bike once in the driveway it has not been used.

The junction box was replaced a day or two before the R/R was replaced.

The battery is a MF Yuasa but it's few years old and probably been through hell while I troubleshooted the charging system.
Bean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ifixf18s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville fl
Posts: 458
iTrader: (0)
 
Did all these type problems start after you did all this maintenance?

You replaced your junction box with one from a ninja 600? Are you sure there compatable? Im also curious how you did the wiring for your Mosfet R/R.

The bike should start and run fine with the R/R disconnected as long as the battery is good, but as soon as the battery gets low enough not to support the ignition, it will stall. The stator and R/R is just for keeping the battery charged. so if your having this problem with it disconnected, you know thats not where the problem is.
ifixf18s is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Registered Badass
 
Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
 
The junction box from the ninja is the same part in our bikes. I did swap it out with the original to rule it out and had the same issue. The ninja box worked fine when I originally put it in.

As you said, with a charged battery and the R/R disconnected, the bike should run assuming the battery's handling the load (which I suspect it is not). I don't want to run out and buy another battery without some second opinions though.
Bean is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-12-2012, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered Badass
 
Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
 
Have I stumped everyone here? Should I go buy a new MF battery?
Bean is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-12-2012, 01:36 PM
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
Double check connections for corrosion/tightness. Another left field possibility could be the stater brushes, not hard to check but it calls for pulling the starter which calls for draining the oil. A quick check is using jumper cables connected to a car battery (non-started vehicle) If these check out then the culprit is the battery, but I'm more inclined to think connections.

87 vn750at least that is what the frame #'s say
"Squirrel Bike" aka Jersey

Rat bike with a good PR agent

shaved and coastered
2 into 1 exhaust
rear 170 and front 110
Relocated R/R
custom dash with voltmeter
Spitfire windscreen
Plutonium plugs
Recovered seat without "butt hammers"
More to come
Praise to the Parts Goddess Crobins for needed things

When someone tells me "Great minds think alike" all I can think is "You Pervert"
dragon159 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-12-2012, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Ceal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,687
iTrader: (2)
 
That also happens when you have a short sometimes.

1985 VN700 unknown mileage (over 33K)

AGM Battery
Iridium spark plugs
NGK wires and caps
Relocated R/R
Marbled
Ceal is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-12-2012, 02:31 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
Sounds like a loose or bad ground, try running a new thick wire for a grount to eliminate a posibility.
Had the same issue on a car a couple of months ago.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 04:06 PM
Crap, I WAS in 5th gear.
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 500
iTrader: (1)
 
Sounds like an internal short in the battery. Charge it up and have it tested.
Kelly2001 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 04:54 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,644
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Have to ask. Do you have a Gremlin Bell on the bike?

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered Badass
 
Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
iTrader: (2)
 
Thanks for the suggestions. Seems like the ground wire is ok. I had to leave the key in the On position for a few minutes this time before I got any voltage to show at the battery. Then like before the moment I pressed start it dropped to .5 volts. I waited about two minutes for it to come back up again before cleaning up my tools and calling it a night.

@Knife
I do in fact have a bell. However, it is one I bought so as you know, it's power is reduced. That bell is a replacement for one that was given to me though. The original was bitten off by a road gator that I hit at 90mph in the Nevada desert. Sometimes I wonder if it would have taken my foot had the bell not been there
Bean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome