Stator wire connections - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-03-2011, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Stator wire connections

Im having issues with my front cyl not firing steady, sometimes not at all.
Ive cleaned the connections coming outta the stator, and seemed to help. When I get "no fire", I move the stator wires around and it fires. Rear cyl never had issues. since there are 3 stator wires exiting, is one for front, one for rear ?...if so, I know what to fix. If not....siiiiigh....



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-03-2011, 09:21 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
flitecontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monroe, LA
Posts: 4,698
iTrader: (14)
 
It doesn't matter what order the three wires coming from the stator are attached to the three wires going into the harness.

I'm keepin' all the left over parts. I'm gonna use 'em to build another bike!
_____________________________________________
"Black Beauty"
1989 VN750 acquired December, 2008, 6,711 miles
Currently 23,298 miles

Old Blue
2001 Honda CMX250 Rebel acquired July, 2008

1987 VN750 project bike, acquired August, 2009, 33,000 miles and balancer sticking out of the case, currently awaiting attention and parts
flitecontrol is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 08:50 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
93VN750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (2)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
Im having issues with my front cyl not firing steady, sometimes not at all.
Ive cleaned the connections coming outta the stator, and seemed to help. When I get "no fire", I move the stator wires around and it fires. Rear cyl never had issues. since there are 3 stator wires exiting, is one for front, one for rear ?...if so, I know what to fix. If not....siiiiigh....
No, it's a 3 phase system therefore three wires. They also would have no bearing on one cylinder or the other as they provide ac voltage for the r/r to rectify and regulate.

There is a coil for each cylinder, check to make sure they are both getting voltage (DC) when the problem occurs.

Jon

93VN750, under re-construction
vn750.com Member # 828

Rick's Stator and R/R
MF AGM Battery
Coastered
Degoated
Shaved & Jetted
Iridium's
MAC Tapered Staggered Pipes
Battery/Temp/Clock Gauge
Stainless Steel Brake Lines
Dunlop D-404's
23,XXX miles and holding pending gasket change (underway!!!)
93VN750 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 10:37 AM
Member? ... check.
 
ZCraggRatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 513
iTrader: (4)
 
Garage
You say cleaning the stator wires "seemed to help". Could it be that when you were "cleaning" the three stator wires coming from the stator, you moved the coil pickup cables somewhat? You might try pulling and pinching on the pickup coil cables while the bike is running to see if you have an intermittent problem with that wiring.

Putting a timing light on a plug wire will aid in detecting the misfires.

~~C8>

Last edited by ZCraggRatt; 11-04-2011 at 10:44 AM. Reason: guess ...
ZCraggRatt is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Actually...

Actually, I meant cleaning the connectors which are just before the harness. But the wire itself (outer shell over the 3) was melted in a few spots, but the wires inside seemed ok. And i checked the front coil. All seemed ok there. So, will fix the section that was a lil melted first and see what happens. Need to do it anyway, really. Not happy with the way theyre routed either. Very tight and way too close to exhaust. Gonna splice in extentions and rerout to other side of driveshaft since I have no belly now.
Gonna check the rectifier leads too. Its still in its original spot.
Thanks for the advice guys !



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome