Bad batteries and implications for r/r and stator - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 06:58 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Bad batteries and implications for r/r and stator

Hi, Folks - Now I've totally lost the thread from yesterday, but managed to get the info on the MF battery that's discussed in the first thread in this section. In response to my query about the bad cell in the battery, someone (VN750?) responded that I now need to check my r/r and my stator (if I got this right, "a bad r/r may ruin a stator, but a bad stator won't ruin an r/r"). Yikes! So if I get a new MF battery, I may *still* have to replace both the r/r and the stator? Because...?

Sorry, I'm still new to the mechanics of motorcycles -if someone could help, can you explain to me the relationship (briefly) between the r/r, battery, and stator/alternator? And was it my riding at low rpms in the heat that somehow may have mucked up all three? I recharged the maintenance battery, and everything seemed to work ok last night. But now I'm worried about riding too far from home...sounds like I could've screwed up a lot of important and costly parts!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 08:23 AM

Get a volt meter (even a hand held one). Go for a ride a few times around the block (so the bike is warmed up). Take off the seat hook up the volt meter and see what the voltage is at idle, 3000 rpm, and 5000 rpm. If you get 13+ volts at 3000, you should be good to go.

Deuce (Loran Naperville IL)
1995 VN750 (Black w/ 2004 tins - no teal)
2003 VN750
Both have: - F&S Bags & brackets
- Corbin seat w backrest
- Progressive suspension.
- Kury iso goldwing grips
2 1983 V65 Magnas
2 1985 V65 Mangas (1 which is in many parts)