Eliminating headlight/horn/turn signal/ hazard box - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-24-2011, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
board917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
 
Eliminating headlight/horn/turn signal/ hazard box

i want to remove and bypass the left handlebar control box, i will not be running a headlight switch, horn, or turn signals. If this control box is just unplugged from the wiring harness then the bike wont turn over. Anyone know which wire i need to short together? I am assumin it would be something with the headlight.
board917 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 03:02 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
ok i didn't see this before i posted on your other less informative post. your problem is you are getting rid of the clutch safety switch. there is three wires going into it.. those three wires need to stay connected at the connector. All my manuals are packed away for my upcoming deployment and move afterwords, so i don't know the color or the bypass procedure for the switch... when in removed mine, i removed the jb and the ignition switch and the start button... so off the top of my head i don't remember.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 11:24 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 369
iTrader: (0)
 
Connect JB 10-pin connector pin 12 (Y/G) to ground -> starts always, or connect it to pin 15 (LG) of the same connector -> only starts when in neutral.
pappa is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
board917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
 
there is no Y/G wire at the JB, #12 pin is a solid black wire, i connected that to ground and it didnt work. That black wire does run to the clutch safety switch tho.
board917 is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:26 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
b/w on the ignigtor box to ground with a diode in line is how I eliminated the switches
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
board917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
 
wuts the purpose of the diode?
board917 is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
board917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
 
there is no Blue/White wire on the igniter box.
board917 is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:36 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I am not sure why its needed... I tried just to go streight to ground and it would run as Long as I kept my finger on the start button, but as soon as I let go the engine would die.. I added the diode and it now runs fine.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
board917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
 
here is a pic of the wires i have to work with from the left control box and a pic of the wires i have going into the JB and igniter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring 002.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	3402   Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring 003.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	3403  
board917 is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 01:41 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 369
iTrader: (0)
 
!!?
The wiring diagram shows a Y/G wire from pin 12, but you don't seem to have anything at pin 12. If you grounded the black wire coming to pin 11 (connector front right corner in the picture), you should have blown a fuse! That one comes from the start button.

The starter circuit relay is supposed to get it's ground through pin 12, so I don't understand how you ever got your bike started. Or I've got the pin numbering all wrong, but the colors of the other wires seem to match the numbering the way I think it goes.

Edit:
You could try to bypass the starter circuit relay completely by connecting pins 11 and 13 together (that back wire in the front right corner to the yellow/red wire).

Last edited by pappa; 02-25-2011 at 01:47 PM.
pappa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome