Turn signals won't shut off. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portsmouth,Hampshire UK
Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)
 
Turn signals won't shut off.

My turn signals used to shut off automatically, all of a sudden i have to do it manually. Anyone know why, love to put them right!
tiger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 02:15 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
denny6006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: InezKY pop.600
Posts: 5,236
iTrader: (9)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger View Post
My turn signals used to shut off automatically, all of a sudden i have to do it manually. Anyone know why, love to put them right!
I take it you have an earlier model with the self cancelling signals.there is a part in the electrical system that calculates distance travelled and shuts off the signals from what I recall,although not 100% sure what it is called,sounds like it is bad to me, later models didn't have self canceling signals.

Some one else will chime in with more info,I'm sure or correct me if I am wrong.Which s very likely since I sold my manuals after I got the1500.




If you see it on my bike I did it
VROC#30324
92 vn750(sold)
Current ride 05 1500 Classic FI
lovin' the new scoot



Quote:
"When all is said and done,usually more is said than done" UNK
Click on one x and drag to the other to read between them.

Psalm 40:1...
XI waited patiently for the Lord; and he turned unto me, and heard my cry. X
denny6006 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portsmouth,Hampshire UK
Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)
 
It's an 86 model Denny, don't quite understand " calculates distance travelled ". Does this mean when the bike straightens up?
tiger is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 02:49 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
denny6006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: InezKY pop.600
Posts: 5,236
iTrader: (9)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger View Post
It's an 86 model Denny, don't quite understand " calculates distance travelled ". Does this mean when the bike straightens up?
No I think it works off the speedo drive. mine was a 92 and didn't have it,so i'm not sure if it is on the speedo or elsewhere,check the Verses or click on the search button above and type in the drop down "self cancelling signals" and see if you get a hit on the forum

EDIT:I searched it for you ,read this thread it is in the speedo head.
https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthrea...celing+signals




If you see it on my bike I did it
VROC#30324
92 vn750(sold)
Current ride 05 1500 Classic FI
lovin' the new scoot



Quote:
"When all is said and done,usually more is said than done" UNK
Click on one x and drag to the other to read between them.

Psalm 40:1...
XI waited patiently for the Lord; and he turned unto me, and heard my cry. X

Last edited by denny6006; 11-22-2010 at 02:54 PM.
denny6006 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 03:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portsmouth,Hampshire UK
Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)
 
That was a great help denny, thanks! Maybe i shouldn't worry about them as they still work manually.
tiger is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (2)
 
the distance sensor is built into the speedo. Thus if its bad I would think you'd need to replace with an old model speedo. I just checked the Kawasaki manual. I copied in the procedure in a whole post, but the damn internet at the university won't recognize that I have Linux and dont need their bs network security. I'll try to post the procedure later... class is about to start
Bazooka_Luca is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (2)
 
Also, I have a speedo off an 85 700 (the 700A and 750 A1, A2, A3, and A4 models had this feature). I never used the bike, so I'm not sure if the distance sensor is good. Might be... I could dig it up
Bazooka_Luca is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portsmouth,Hampshire UK
Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)
 
That's great Bazooka, have a good day! I will try to examine all parts first as the bike has been stored for some time, maybe a good clean and a spray of WD 40 might do the trick!

Last edited by tiger; 11-22-2010 at 03:32 PM.
tiger is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 11:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (2)
 
Ok, factory procedure is:

"Check all the wiring connections carefully, and then inspect the distance sensor and turn signal switch/solenoid assembly. If all these are good, replace the turn signal control unit."

And then it says

-Remove the speedometer cable lower end from front axle.
-Open up the headlight
-Pull off the brown connector and the red lead to connect an ohmmeter across to the light green lead in the brown connector and the red lead.
-Turn the speedometer cable slowly and count how many times the sensor shows continuity. It should show continuity 4 times per turn.
-If it does not, replace the speedometer unit.

Hope this helps!
Bazooka_Luca is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-23-2010, 03:23 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portsmouth,Hampshire UK
Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)
 
HI Bazooka, that's a great help, shall start today!
tiger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome