Radiator Fan running on cold bike. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-17-2010, 02:01 PM Thread Starter

Radiator Fan running on cold bike.

So I just got my latest '86 and its parked out in the driveway, covered. We had a little rain last night and this morning I was standing in front of the house and heard this strange blowing noise. Thought it was coming from across the street, and went back in, only to come out a while later and realize that it was my radiator fan!

The cover that came with the bike is old and worn (I haven't had a chance to go get my Nelson Riggs cover from my mothers... I'm a student and rent a house by the university). It did let some water through to the seat last night, and it doesn't fit the bike very well. I'm wondering if I got some water somewhere in the electrical components and it shorted out the fan switch. I unplugged the fan power source for now, though the brand new battery the bike came with wont even turn her over anymore (have the receipt from PO from auto-zone, it might go back as having a "bad cell"). Anyways, the questions:

1) Is this switch somewhere in the radiator assembly? I have two other radiators I could replace if this one is faulty.

2) Is this indicative of some larger electrical problem farther upstream that I'll need to fix?

3) Is it possible, though I would really rather not, to install a relay on the fan so that it will not run without the key in the on position? Could this cause any heat damage? I don't think it would, as the engine will stop producing heat once it is shut off.

4) Is it too soon to already want to take a sledgehammer to this thing?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-17-2010, 07:02 PM Thread Starter

Question update