Battery charging... I'm a big idiot help me please. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-17-2010, 11:30 PM Thread Starter

Battery charging... I'm a big idiot help me please.

I have a few questions but let me give you some background first. I am new to motorcycles in general. I have an '89. The guy who sold it to me put in a standard (not maintenance free) battery 500 miles before I bought the bike from him. It fired right up when I test rode it and 5-6 times after that. From the time I rode it home the bike has not left my garage (IE no highway speed charging). The reasons I started it up without riding were I played with some carb settings and gave the tank a health dose of seafoam I wanted to get working. The last few times I let it idle for 15-20 min thinking that this would charge up the battery to make up for the starts. Today I went to start it again and I could tell the battery was weak. I of course decided I would let it idle to charge. While it was idling I go on the forums and started reading. I came to the understanding that I was not doing the battery any favors by starting the bike and just letting it idle. As I was reading I heard the bike die. I ran to the garage. About 10 seconds had passed since the bike died before I got there. When I did I noticed the headlight was very weak. I quickly turned off the key and ran out to buy a battery charger. I got a 6-4-2amp automatic. Presently I have the battery charging at the 2 amps.
Questions:
1. Am I correct in saying that even if the bike is in good operating condition idling for 15-20 min will not charge the battery?