Tach jumping with power loss - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (8)
 
Tach jumping with power loss

I'm on my way home today and the bike intermittently stutters around 3000~4000 RPM. I figure it's probably the stupid carb vent hose again, but then I notice that the tach jumps up about 500 RPM and back down when the bike stutters. Any thoughts on this one?
BTW- my kickstand switch has never worked, don't know why that would cause a problem cruising but just thought I should throw it out there. Also my ignition switch sometimes needs a little jiggle with the key when you turn it to the on position....the lights come on, but the neutral indicator doesn't light and the bike wont turn over till you wiggle the key a little.
dariv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 08:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via AIM to MikeW0311 Send a message via Yahoo to MikeW0311
I'm having a similar problem, been posting at:
https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthrea...t=13849&page=2

Still looking for a solution?????
MikeW0311 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 08:44 PM
Old Truck Junkie
 
niterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roby Texas
Posts: 4,130
iTrader: (15)
 
Clean the key switch first and go from there.

02 honda sabre 1100
niterider is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (8)
 
I now believe the issue with the tach is unrelated to the stutter. Sometimes the tach jumps with out any loss of power......
I ran the bike at highway speed while playing with the carb vent hose and still believe my problem may be there. That tube is damn picky.
dariv is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 09:39 PM
Old Truck Junkie
 
niterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roby Texas
Posts: 4,130
iTrader: (15)
 
If you are shaven and have a black box under your fuel tank, connect the carb vent hose to it. Make sure that the hose is not bent or cincked. That is where I connected mine.

02 honda sabre 1100
niterider is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (8)
 
What is that "black box" for, anyway?
dariv is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 10:02 PM
Old Truck Junkie
 
niterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roby Texas
Posts: 4,130
iTrader: (15)
 
I have been told here that it is for connecting this very hose. There is no connection into the fuel tank from it.

02 honda sabre 1100
niterider is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (8)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by niterider View Post
I have been told here that it is for connecting this very hose. There is no connection into the fuel tank from it.
This begs the question, then why is it in the right ear?
dariv is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2010, 11:08 PM
Old Truck Junkie
 
niterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roby Texas
Posts: 4,130
iTrader: (15)
 
I don't have that answer.

02 honda sabre 1100
niterider is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-02-2010, 12:28 AM
Junior Member
 
w.waters1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 21
iTrader: (1)
 
Thumbs up Had that problem

I had the same problem but found the problem was the ground wire off of the battery. Might want to check that out. Mine did the same thing till it died. I found that the negative came off. Once I got it back on and tightened up I was good to go. No problems since. Try that or check the rest of the ground wires.
w.waters1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome