battery voltage drops with nothing on - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-16-2010, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: grass valley Ca
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
 
battery voltage drops with nothing on

I went for a ride and she was running great went about 5 miles, into a store for 10 min or so came out and she would not start. I had to bumb start drove home but RPM's were all over the place. come to stop it would be high I gave throttle no change. adjusted the RPM's down then she almost died. got home let her cool down checked voltage 10 or so, so I charged battery then checked voltage levels and I could see the voltage drop .01 volts per second or so. I got a full charge got her started and measured voltage at idle 13.8ish rev the throttle voltage goes up to 14v range. I was feeling like to R/R is the issue it has been relocated. the harness was melted and looked like it had been shorting out so I cut the harness wire for wire and soldered them together (last fall). now when bike runs for about 10 min. the wires get hot. then she will not start after I turn off. Does any one have any ideas? Any help would be great. 1986 VN750 by the way. Thank you all


Matt
matty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-16-2010, 06:27 PM
Old Truck Junkie
 
niterider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Roby Texas
Posts: 4,130
iTrader: (15)
 
Check electical connections. Especially to the r/r and battery cables. Also check the battery.

02 honda sabre 1100
niterider is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-16-2010, 08:41 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
denny6006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: InezKY pop.600
Posts: 5,236
iTrader: (9)
     
Garage
I would also go over the wiring harness and make sure nothing has rubbed the insulation off and shorted or grounded and what nite said about the connectors make sure they are clean and not corroded and bleeding over from pin to pin .After you clean a connection use dieelectric grease on it when you plug it back together. sounds like a short somewhere, and it is not a very big one to drop no faster than that.it may be hard to spot ,so I would make sure all my wiring harness connectors are cleaned and greased.And if that is the same battery and you just charged it, take it out of the bike and see if it drops voltage like before.It might be the whole problem ,it may be shorted.




If you see it on my bike I did it
VROC#30324
92 vn750(sold)
Current ride 05 1500 Classic FI
lovin' the new scoot



Quote:
"When all is said and done,usually more is said than done" UNK
Click on one x and drag to the other to read between them.

Psalm 40:1...
XI waited patiently for the Lord; and he turned unto me, and heard my cry. X
denny6006 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome