Won't Start - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 09:07 PM Thread Starter

Won't Start

Hey, I'm still pretty new at this, but you all have come through for me before, so here goes: I'm a new owner of an '86 since last fall and I've been trying to get out every couple weeks over the winter. Everything's been working fine. Went out today to start her up (COLD!), but it was taking some work. It coughed and sputtered a bit, but wouldn't turn over. I tried it about 3-4 times, waiting about 10 seconds in between cranks. Then it simply quit trying. When I turn the key to on, the electrical stuff works fine, but when I hit the starter button, I get nothing--no sound of a relay switch, no plunger, no cranking. Did I kill my starter? Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 09:18 PM
Hoser

Charge your battery, check your connections. Lots of things it could be. Best place to start is the electrical diagnostics section of the service manual.

I have had a few bikes that simply wont start at all during winter storage. Thats why I have like three backups.

86's are the best year

1986 VN750A(2) 12224 miles.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 09:30 PM
Sparky!!!

Garage
what kind of battery and what plugs are you running?

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-03-2010, 12:21 AM
Linkmeister Supreme

Welcome to the Vulcan madness. See link below and pay particular attention to the MF-AGM battery and NGK Iridium spark plugs.

Gordon

1991 VN 750 -"Cosmic Lady" or "Bad Girl"?
Purchased May 16, 2008
Approx.19,300km (12,000 miles)

H-D windshield
Relocated R/R
MF-AGM battery
Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns
F&S luggage rack and engine guard
Kury Offset Hiway pegs
July 13, 2016, Riding on the DARKSIDE now, Classic Radial 165/80-15