Legality - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter

Legality

Does anyone have any idea if it would be legal to move my turn signals up on to the sissy bar? I've been thinking of relocating my rear flashers to get them out of the way of my saddlebags opening, and thought a strip of amber LEDs up either side of the sissy bar might look cool and be close to a cagers eye level too

Rook
Conway, AR
VROC # 30581
WBRA #90237-1
2009 1700 Nomad (mine)
2003 VN750 "Prozac" (now hers)
25'000 miles at purchase
Coastered
Ears shaved
Cobra exhaust

So, why is a raven like a writing desk?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 11:35 AM
Senior Lurker

Hey Rook, I'm not a lawyer but I do have an opinion for you,

Your best bet is to consult your local Department of Motor Vehicles or the equivalent agency in your state. In NY I believe that motorcycles (made after 1969) must be equipped with working front and rear turn signals, but I don't think there are any specifics in the code for how bright, and where they should be placed other than "the rear".

Some of the new Harleys come with two red colored turn signals in the rear and no dedicated stop lamp. Instead the rear turn signals light up in red when the brakes are applied. My personal feeling is that keeping yellow turn signals is a safer thing to do since no one will ever confuse the intention of a yellow turn signal where as a red one could be possibly be mistaken as a brake light. I believe in NY there is a rule that brake lights must be red, but turn signals could be either yellow or red.

You can always ask yourself… do you think a car would see this and do you think a cop would give you any sort of ticket for this?

-Sloppy

My Flickr Gallery < Link >