stator instalation problem - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-05-2009, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
grimpixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
 
stator instalation problem

Ok, i've got the engine out and the casing off, took the old stator out and went to fit the new one but there is one very small difference. The old stator has a recess on the inner hole which sits over a lip on the casing, the new one does not have the recess, anyone come across this and is there anything i can do or do i have to get a new stator???
grimpixie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-05-2009, 07:47 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
What kind of stator is the new one? Electrix, Rick's, something else?


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-05-2009, 07:52 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
grimpixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
 
electrex world?
grimpixie is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 08:14 PM
Concert connoisseur
 
wib714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: chillicothe, ohio
Posts: 2,226
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
wish i could help. mine was ricks and fit fine. sorry

1986 vn 750 aka "Huck Farley"
42,000 miles
Rick's stator and rr
Tuxedo stator cover mod
pickup coil mod
dampers replaced
agm m/f battery
Harley sportster exhaust, degoated
Hid conversion
splines lubed
custom "vn750.com" grill cover
NGK Iridium spark plugs


acct to mcct mod https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17917

rekeying locks, https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7309

stator replacement walkthrough, https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11369
wib714 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 08:22 PM
Simple Solutions
 
seebeeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SEQUIM, WA
Posts: 965
iTrader: (3)
 
Send a message via MSN to seebeeare Send a message via Yahoo to seebeeare
do the holes line up? im on my third one from dennis kirc one from electo sport and im gonna send this one in to get wound all in all i'm not gonna go the cheap route n e more and if yours doesnt fit i recomend getting it wound with quality wire nothin worse then doin it again and again oh wait and again.... mine have all fit snugly in place and bolted up nicely///



Stator #3
MF AGM
DeGoated
Ears Shaved
R/R relocated
Rebuilt



She's worth her weight in GOLD
If u dont have it already Here is the Service Manual
How To Test the Stator
seebeeare is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 08:56 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 100
iTrader: (0)
 
I've changed 2 stators on my bike now.
First one, I had one sent to me by Electrosport (forgot the name! Is that the company?). Turned out, it was for a Honda. Looked almost identical, but had a slight variation in spacing or center hole size. I can't recall now. Sent it back and got another one sent to me and it fit perfectly.
It burned out before too long, though.
So I ordered another Kaw original equipment stator. I opened up the bandages around the joints to see if they had done the joints right (staggered the joints and soldered them along with clamping). This one was done right. I've had it on for a couple of years now, some 20,000 miles (the others burned out at about 10,000).
Difference else that I did:
I put the RR unit (a new one just to be sure) up in front where it belongs, and I wired it with one gauge up size wiring (from stator to RR, and RR to box) so that the wires wouldn't get hot and increase the resistance (load) on the stator.
Seems to be working.
But you probably won't get that stator on your engine if it is not PRECISELY fitting. And if you do manage to get it on, you'll probably find something grinding pieces off since the clearances are really close.
vn750angky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome