Connecting ring hookups for battery charger - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-04-2009, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Connecting ring hookups for battery charger

Hey Vulcans, I have a newbie question for the group. I have looked all over the site and the internet and I swear I just can't find a straight forward answer to this, so please forgive me if it's completely obvious to everyone but me.

Okay, so I'm just getting started with my bike and I figure one of the first things I should do is follow the general thought of the board and change that wet battery out to a sealed, MF battery. I'm ordering the Big Crank in a few days and should be good to go there.

That being said, I also thought it would be good to get a charger/tender for the battery so that I can be ready to ride whenever I want without the fear of a dead battery. So I picked up a good-priced one at the Wally World that looks to be just what I need. Has the alligator clips and the ring hookups.

The instructions are pretty specific about connecting the charger to the battery. (Position cords away from moving parts, connect positive clamp from charger to positive post, connect negative clamp to vehicle chasis or engine block, when disconnecting-remove from wall socket and then remove clamp from chasis and then remove clamp from positive post.)