Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Charging issue

2K views 27 replies 5 participants last post by  Odin'sRavens 
#1 ·
Hello, working on a friends bike. His bike kept dying with a dead battery on side of road going to work. It is a 1993 Vulcan 750.
Him and his friend diagnosed it without me as the regulator and replaced that to no success. They than diagnosed it as a stator there enters my issue.
The bike gets dropped off to me and after three times of pulling the motor (I’m a pro now it’s out in 1.5 hours) it’s back together and running (different leaks that appeared were reason for pulling repeatedly).
So I do the stator rewire the burned harness bullet connectors and start it up. The battery is new and fully charged. I got 12.4 volts at idle and 12.9 at ~3100. Not good enough to my understanding.
I read the forum and pulled the headlight fuse. I now at 13.2 at 1500 rpm (yay) but when I rev it to 3000 it drops to 13 volts. Is there any thing else to do or check? I can’t figure out why it is behaving like this. Wire connections appear to be clean.
I haven’t tested the stator or the regulator as they were new and do appear to be working to some capacity.
Thank you

#2 ·
Have to start with stator testing, ... What are the AC volts?

If that checks ok, test the R/R, next I suppose I would think about the Blue Wire and Two-Wire mods to take 2/3 of the JB out of the question.

Any extra lights added to the headlight circuit?

#3 ·
I will have to check the stator tomorrow. I know it’s not the best to skip but didn’t do it (the wires are impossible to get to with my hand size so need help). There are no accessories on the bike other than a hook up for tender (not currently on the bike anyways).

#4 ·
I checked the stator everything is right on spec. The regulator I believe is good (I’m not getting infinity but getting even numbers across terminals (6.5 m ohms). Would this be sufficient? I would think if it was a bad regulator all the leads would not be the same number.