Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

2Likes
  • 2 Post By Buddy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-03-2018, 02:20 PM Thread Starter

Start Problem

I have a 1994 Kawasaki Vulcan 750. The bike will crank over and start on a fully charged battery. Run the bike for half hour or so and shut down then attempt to start again the starter turns over slowly as if the battery was low on charge. Leave the bike to cool down for a while and it will start as though the battery is fully charged. Any suggestions or solutions to my problem. Not that experienced here with bike electronics so any help would be appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-03-2018, 03:18 PM

Garage
Welcome to the VN750 forum. (Someone will ask that you post an introductory post in the newbie thread)

I'm no expert, but I would measure the voltage at the starter at cranking cold versus hot. Need to know if it is an electrical issue or if it's mechanical. My experience leads me to think more mechanical because the starter solenoid would drop out on low voltage before the starter would drag like that. Unless the starter itself has an issue when it gets heated up from ambient engine heat.

I'm sure someone with more experience will chime in soon.

-2016 Indian Springfield
Chieftain bars
Roadmaster heated seat

-1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 750
Ear shaved
Mufflers removed / 38/140 + 2 shims
Relay coil mod
Pick-up coil mod
Emissions removed
Lowered rear
Rear blinkers located in tail light housing
Petcock gutted

- Wife's: 2018 Can-am Spyder F3 Limited Pearl White
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 01:05 AM

Garage
Try searching the forums for 'hot start' threads. I know it's an issue that has been discussed at length.

1992 US-nonCA * tuxedo mod * r/r relocated

Vulcan slang for newcomers
Service Manual Download