Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Jet size for aftermarket exhaust and ear shave

7K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  Ceal 
#1 ·
For the ear shave, I have read that 142 is a good size. I am looking to buy the necessary parts to do the shave but I intend on putting on a loud aftermarket set of pipes and I am thinking I should go to a 145/8 main jet. What do you guys think? And how about the slow jet? 40? 42?

How does the ear shave and re-jet affect the reliability of the bike?

#2 ·
Depends on the altitude you're at. 142/42 jets are usually for sea-level and near sea-level riders. I doubt you have to go all the way up to a 145, but I'm no expert either.

What's the altitude where you ride?

As far as reliability, I don't think it's affected at all. The only thing that has been mentioned is a bit lower fuel efficiency but increased throttle response and power.

#4 · (Edited)
No adverse reliability. Runs better. Hardly use the choke and starts easier...not to mention having to hold on a lil tighter. I don't think you need 145/8's, overkill IMO. Are you running straights? If so maybe then I'd do the 5's but jets that big are used for racing. Also, do you ride highway a lot? Cuz these bikes are loud on HW anyhow because of the high rpm, so with louder pipes you're ears may burn off, lol. I'm not usually below 80 on the HW and I think I'd voluntarily split my skull open with a hatchet if I had to ride straight pipes for any length of time :drool: , just sayin'. Anyway, good luck. :smiley_th

Would be cool to have turn-outs on these tho wouldn't it? Then you could Blat around town p-in' off the neighbors along with the HD's and then turn 'em off when you hit the high road, lol :beerchug:

Reactions: Will86vn750
#5 ·
me too