Wanted : Dead Speedo - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Sell or Swap
Got a part you want to sell or looking for a part?
Want to trade for something? Post it in here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Wanted : Dead Speedo

All I really need is the plate with the numbers....my eyes are gettin worse, and during the day it aint bad, but at night I cant tell if Im doin 30 or 40...I want to take a stock plate, and mod it with larger numbers...like the old style Harley ones....lemme know if you have a fooked speedo layin around....

Like these, is what I wanna make.....mostly the last....









Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 09:32 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I am not home wolfie, but I got life sized scans on my desktop to o exactly what you are trying to do

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Hay....prolly gonna be a winter project for me anyway bro, too many small rides yet to take the speedo off....gettin too damned cold to ride too early and too late....I just ran outta smokes the othe night and was damned if I was gonna pay the extra $2 for NYS tax (thats 2 tallboys !)....I took the 12 mile ride into Jersey....thats rare for me, so no rush....I just want an old one to make a template...was thinkin of makking a translucent one with black numbers, and backlighting it...but yeah, I need BIG numbers now...cant see that little sheit no more....3 = 30...3 and a slash between the 4 means 35...thats all ya need anyway on a bike....no need for 20, 25, 30, 35, 40....thats bullsheit....but since the 70's, I never got ONE ticket while on a bike...I wanna keep it that way, lol....



Wolfie is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 10:03 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I might have the face plate, I will look through my junk pile when I get home. Or I can email you the original scans.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 10:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Yeah...if you can email me the scans, that'd work too bro.....much apreciated amigo....I just need to get the graduations and holes for the indicators right is all....rest I can fudge, lol...dont wanna take mine off just yet....but thought about just repaintin the face on the stock too....




Last edited by Wolfie; 09-29-2013 at 10:08 PM.
Wolfie is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 10:43 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Sent from Motorcycle.com Free Appnot sure if this is actual size, but it looks to be on my tablet. I cant see the resolution on here


Click image for larger version

Name:	1380509231736.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	10874

Last edited by slimvulcanrider; 09-29-2013 at 10:45 PM.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2013, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
That'll do....thanks bro....



Wolfie is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 05:09 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
I also have the rest of the Gauges scanned if you would like them.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
....nahhh....I can "feel" the tach (revs)...no need to see numbers, lol....just the speedo and this will work fine....I'll post up my finished one.....



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome