Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

'85 VN700 for sale in Jacksonville, FL

880 views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  ldefoggi 
#1 ·
Up for sale is a 1985 VN700. The engine runs great, and has 180lbs of compression on each cylinder, BUT the trans will not shift past first gear. I have tried everything I know to try and I am no motorcycle mechanic so I don't know what else to do. I have split the case twice and follow the manual to the "T" on re-assembly. I never saw any trans damage while it was apart, and like I said, I followed the manual to the "T" for re-assembly. Either way, I have spent enough time and energy on this bike and my '07 Street Bob and '72 GT750 are feeling neglected.

The bike is 98% complete and in decent shape. The tank is dented and there is some minor surface rust on some of the components but overall it's decent. I do not want to part it out, but if it is not sold by the middle of May, I will put it up for parting out. Someone make me an offer and come get this bike out of my garage.

Thanks,
Lance

p.s. I will try to add some picture this evening or tomarrow.

#2 ·
I take it that you mean it won`t shift out of first gear while riding, not sitting with the engine off. MY understanding is that the bike must be moving at some minimum speed to allow the transmission to shift past the neutral finder into second gear. I don`t know if this is any help, but I hate to see you put so much time and effort into the bike and not get to ride it.

#5 ·
...How many miles are on it? Has it been garage kept? Has it ever been dumped or laid down? Do you have the title? How old are the tires? Stuff like that...