First Bike, Hasn't Ran in ???, What Should I Do Before Starting It - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-02-2017, 10:34 PM Thread Starter

First Bike, Hasn't Ran in ???, What Should I Do Before Starting It

Hello Everyone, this is my first time posting, and the 1986 Vulcan 750 that I am picking up tomorrow is my first bike. The thing with this bike though, is that I don't know the last time it ran. The tags on the license plate are from 06, so I know it's probably been a while. I also know that it was kept in a heated garage. I bought it through an estate auction for only $300. The body is in great shape, and the tank doesn't have any scratches or dents. There are no tears in the seat, and there is no rust that I can see. The only issue that I can see so far is that the plastic connecting the turn signals to the bike has completely crumbled away, so I plan on replacing all four turn signals. I also know the battery is dead because the bike did absolutely nothing when I turned the key and tried to start it. SO, before I try getting it running, is there any maintenance that I should complete. I'm a newbie, so I'm not 100% sure what maintenance should be completed. So far, I know I probably want to change the oil. I appreciate any help, ideas, tips, or tricks for this bike. I'm beyond excited to hopefully get it in running condition and to learn how to ride!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 09:26 AM

Welcome "Newb"!!!You should introduce yourself under Newbs...just sayin'!!Anyway get that AGM sealed high crank battery ,oil change/filter (do yourself),fresh gas....for "starters".
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 10:33 AM
Old Fart

Garage
There are several things you should do before even trying to start the bike.