Dumb noob guestions. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 07:30 PM Thread Starter

Dumb noob guestions.

I know these are dumb questions but i am new to motorcycles. When not driving my bike do i need to turn the petcock to off or does it matter? When should i run fuel stabilizer in my gas tank , I know you should run it when bike is going to be sitting up for a while, but what is considered awhile?

Thanks for the help and excuse my ignorance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-21-2009, 08:22 PM
and the Adventure Cycle

OK, first off, any question you don't know the answer to ISN'T a dumb question.......
Unless you don't ask it!!!!

The fuel is drawn into the carbs by way of vacuum, only when the bike is running.
There is no need to turn the petcock off.

Most here use Seafoam as a fuel stabilizer, fuel system cleaner. It's often suggested to run it every 3 or so tankfuls at about 3 oz per tank.
Exact measurements aren't necessary. Just guesstimate. Too much wont hurt anything.

Most here also recommend NOT using Stabil.

I'd say if you bike is going to sit for more than a month, add atleast 3 oz of Seafoam, take the bike for a ride to get the Seafoam through the system, then park it.

Any other question, just ask.
Most answers can be found using the search function , but that can lead you to so many results that it's sometimes hard to find the answer you're looking for.

AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC

"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2009, 07:18 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperbuzzin View Post
OK, first off, any question you don't know the answer to ISN'T a dumb question.......
Unless you don't ask it!!!!

The fuel is drawn into the carbs by way of vacuum, only when the bike is running.