Throttle B - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-15-2008, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
gambit101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Throttle Assembly

Hey folks. Purchased an 86 Vulcan 750-A2 a few days ago.
So far so good...or at least the seller set the 'things start to go wrong/lemon' timer to 1 week.

The catch is that the throttle assembly/box doesn't fit securely on the handlebar, as it will rotate. Best way to describe it is that if you pushed on the engine kill switch really hard the assembly would twist. I put on a couple layers of electrical tape on the handlebar so it tightens up as you secure the upper and lower halves together. I assume something snapped off at some point during it's life. What is the part/plug/pin that I need? I can't seem to find this in schematics, specs, or my repair manual.

Thanks guys. Lots of information on here. Killed a few hours just browsing.

Last edited by gambit101; 08-15-2008 at 11:22 PM. Reason: incomplete
gambit101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-15-2008, 11:35 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,602
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
I think the stock handlebar had a hole that lined up with a protrusion in the housing...so do not know it you need to drill a hole in the bar or locate the one there, or if the "pin" was sheard off somehow. You should be able to tell if it was by taking it apart and looking. (some folks put on diffrent handlebars so not sure where else to begin)

Kinda sounds like the pin is there but not the hole....

Make sure you do not strip out the two bolts that clamp the housing on as the unit is soft aluminum.


KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-16-2008, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
gambit101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Hmm. There *IS* a hole on just the top side of the handlebar as well as piece of plastic that juts out in the upper control housing. I suppose a screw or thick pin fits into the spot in housing and then it lines up with the hole in the handlebar. Does someone have a few photos of a disassembled stock or aftermarket throttle assembly with all the screws and such that are used during installation? That would help a lot in knowing what I should look for. I'll bet I can pick something up at the hardware store.

I went into one of the bathroom stalls at work and the whole seat was missing. All I could think was "Wow, and all this time I've just been stealing toilet paper.
gambit101 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-16-2008, 12:57 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,602
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
My throttle housing I have sitting here seems to be missing a pin itself. Likely the piece sheared off or the prevous owner removed it to tilt the bars back more. In any event, you might want to make sure the two halves bolt all the way down solidly off the bar, as it should not turn if properly tightened. you might have some grease from the throttle on the bar, or it may be getting hung up some.

I once used a thin strip of rubber off an inner tube to fix the exact problem you are having on another bike. I laid it on the top of the bar, positioned the throttle assembly where I wanted it and torqued the screws down. used a razor blade to cut off excess.

You could carefully drill the protrusion in the housing and cut a small bolt or nail to glue in there...

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-16-2008, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
gambit101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
Thumbs up

Ah, perfect. I'll shape a piece of rubber or thick foam to put in there. More piece of mind knowing it isn't jury-rigged with tape. I'm not sure I'm ready to be taking a drill to my bike just yet. Thanks for the suggestion.

I went into one of the bathroom stalls at work and the whole seat was missing. All I could think was "Wow, and all this time I've just been stealing toilet paper.
gambit101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome