Gps ? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-23-2008, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Gps ?

Anyone have a good suggestion for a not too expensive GPS unit for the 750? Just wondering if anyone uses one and how they mounted it to the bike. Saw a buddies Garmin unit and he has it mounted to the handlebar mounts with a swivel ball post he got off of ebay. Doesn't seem to me to be to solid after it is mounted on the ball. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
Jay
jaymann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-23-2008, 05:45 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,679
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Someone on the Yahoo group posted they were getting this unit:
http://tinyurl.com/6hnapr

And were looking for a mount.

I suggested they use this:

http://tinyurl.com/4gs7lw

I have a Zumo 550...an "expensive" unit, and have no problems using RAM mounts. The ones on ebay sound like knock-offs and I doubt I would trust them.

Mine uses a RAM ball that I bolted to the mirror stem mount and does not move.
Do note that the Zumo was built for motorcycles, and most other units are built for cars. Hence, the unit above is likely not waterproof, and that is why I suggested using the Aqua box.

The others on the market meant for cars can use the same mount if they fit.

Bulldog found a fairly inexpensive GPS that seems to work well, you might want to do a search for it.


KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-26-2008, 06:04 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
750Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 2,850
iTrader: (10)
   
Here's another discussion about it-

https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7265
750Doug is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-26-2008, 02:41 PM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (2)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 750Doug View Post
Here's another discussion about it-

https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7265
And I have now had the Garmin Nuvi 200 for a bit so I will give an up date on my opinion... I mount it on the gas tank via the suction cup that came with the unit and did epoxy a small metal tab with a hole in it for a string which I tied a knot in and lay under the rear of the unlocked gas tank lid, then latch the lid down... It has only come loose once but the string caught it... It did viberate a tad till I put the dash mount disc on the tank, now it dosen't viberate nor has not come loose... I think it is going to hold that way fine, maybe even better than some of the cycle mounts... I am not hardwired so I must depend on the built in battery which is claimed to last up to 5 hrs., which of course is UP TO... I do think it will last 3 hrs. with the LCD light turned up bright and the volume mutted... I just wish you could put more than 1 via point in for it to follow... The cigar lighter plug has a voltage reducer built in that reduces the voltage from 12 to 5v or I would hardwire it also... I kinda like it for the money and size, $168.?? at china-mart but cheaper on the net... (+/-$145)...
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......
Sportster Owner/Rider since age 72...lol... Rider since Simplex...???
09-xl1200 "C" Vivid Black, Cast wheels w/19" Frt., SE-Stage 1+, X14iEDs...
MicroTach +, Higher wider H-bars, GPS Mt., Mustach bar Hwy. pegs...
Viking Shock cutout Saddlebags, Rear Mt. Signal Lt. Kit, Fork Brace...
RoadKing Air Shocks, Mustang Seat, Progressive Fork Springs...
Old Dog is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)
 
I picked up a Nuvi 200 Blue at BestBuy yesterday $170 and an online coupon for $50 off. Nice unit for the money. I stuck it on the tank temporarily with Velcro until I can figure out a better mount. I also wired a cigarette lighter receptacle into the accessory leads under the side cover for power.

My plan was to buy a second Nuvi cord and just leave it plugged in under the side cover, but I noticed that the accessory leads are "hot" even if the bike is off.

Anyone have a suggestion on how or where to add a switch to shut-off the accessory leads.

Glenn Douglas
Londonderry, NH
GDouglas is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 02:58 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Maybee to the blue wire that runs to the tail lights???
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 03:06 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,679
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Doe not the Nuvi have an on/off switch?

My Zumo is wired directly to the battery. Thus I can use it when the bike is not running. I can turn it off with it's own switch. And if I were to leave the bike for any amount of time I would be taking the unit with me anyway to keep it from being stolen.

So not sure why you would not want to use the "Allways hot" wires....


KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 03:20 PM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (2)
 
Yes the NUVI 200 has an off switch, but I believe he wants to cut the power from the accessory leads off... I mounted a toggle switch on the front of the side cover to cut mine off, and also mounted an in line 3A fuse in the hot wire... Thanks to those on here that gave some good advise, all is well... Did about as KM said...
Mine is suction cupped to the gas tank next to the cap with a nylon cord with a knot under the gas cap, latched down with the cap... I mounted the dash disk on the tank and have had no problem so far...... I am a digital dummy, so I can't post pictures...... (Note---The NUVI 200 is NOT waterproof) Except of course when you put it in a freezer bag......
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......
Sportster Owner/Rider since age 72...lol... Rider since Simplex...???
09-xl1200 "C" Vivid Black, Cast wheels w/19" Frt., SE-Stage 1+, X14iEDs...
MicroTach +, Higher wider H-bars, GPS Mt., Mustach bar Hwy. pegs...
Viking Shock cutout Saddlebags, Rear Mt. Signal Lt. Kit, Fork Brace...
RoadKing Air Shocks, Mustang Seat, Progressive Fork Springs...

Last edited by Old Dog; 07-13-2008 at 03:25 PM.
Old Dog is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Dog View Post
Yes the NUVI 200 has an off switch, but I believe he wants to cut the power from the accessory leads off... I mounted a toggle switch on the front of the side cover to cut mine off, and also mounted an in line 3A fuse in the hot wire... Thanks to those on here that gave some good advise, all is well... Did about as KM said
Yes KM is correct, the Nuvi does have an on/off switch. Like Old Dog said the but the cigarette adapter plug uses power, probably no much but the red led does stay on. I wanted to kill the power to the accessory leads, so I can leave the adapter plugged in inside the side cover.

I'll look around for a waterproof toggle switch for the side cover.

Glenn Douglas
Londonderry, NH
GDouglas is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 04:31 PM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (2)
 
I got my toggle switch at Advance Auto, it was pretty cheap but I don't think it is waterproof... I just drilled the hole in the side plate front on the little flat where it is out of the way...
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......
Sportster Owner/Rider since age 72...lol... Rider since Simplex...???
09-xl1200 "C" Vivid Black, Cast wheels w/19" Frt., SE-Stage 1+, X14iEDs...
MicroTach +, Higher wider H-bars, GPS Mt., Mustach bar Hwy. pegs...
Viking Shock cutout Saddlebags, Rear Mt. Signal Lt. Kit, Fork Brace...
RoadKing Air Shocks, Mustang Seat, Progressive Fork Springs...
Old Dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome