Traction and Cornering/Turning Question(s) - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 06:29 AM Thread Starter

Traction and Cornering/Turning Question(s)

Well, not sure I have seen this directly addressed here so gonna give it a go.

As I have said several times I am new to motorcycle riding. About 3 months under my belt. That said, I feel pretty dog on confident on my bike riding the turns and corners we have here when dry outside-there are actually some pretty good roads to ride if you know where to look.

But, I am leary of any turn-not matter how 'dull' or slight it may be when it is wet or I have just passed through water. I know the only REAL answer to these questions will be experience and all the other factors involved-tires, oil on the road, acceleration, braking, etc.-but I would love to get some ideas and opinions. I don't want to have to fall to learn the limits of my bike.

So-Just how good is the grip on this bike when cornering on wet stuff? I know it's good when dry and I have leaned mine over and almost scraped the footpeg (had a buddy following me just to see how close I was). But honestly, I am plumb scared when it comes to sharp turns or even turning at red lights when it is wet outside. Overly cautious might be a better description. Maybe it is an irrational fear, but I am scared I am going to 'eat it'.

So do you people have any input and/or videos that would help me and other riders that are specific for the 750?

Thanks in advance.

2005 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI

Previous bike: 2002 Vulcan 750

Last edited by pmassey31545; 06-25-2015 at 06:35 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 06:53 AM
Super Moderator

all traction (wet or dry) depends greatly on the tires on the bike. not just the brand, but the condition and age.

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17