Considering buying an 86 VN750 - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2005, 11:10 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Considering buying an 86 VN750

Hi All,
I am considering buying an 86 VN750. It seems to run well, no unexpected noises or vibrations, and looks like it is in good shape for it's age. It does not have it's original paint. It is a funky black metalflake. Anyway, the owner is asking $1500 for it. He says he paid $2500 for it 2 years ago. It has 8300 miles on it, new tires and battery. The fork seals leak a bit. Not a lot. Other than that it looks ok, although, I am no expert. This would be my first bike and would like feedback on whether you think this is a fair price for it. I am thinking of offering $1200 for it if I decide I want it.

I would appreciate any comments.

Thanks,
Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2005, 04:48 PM

Re: Considering buying an 86 VN750

Hi there

I own a 86 VN750 bought for $1200 Back in Nov. 2004. First let me say the VN750 is a competent design with lots of built in extras not found in most cruisers today. Notable exception is the present 2005 VN750. That said there are lots of bewares on any older bike. The list of stuff I have replaced is long. Where as a friend of mine has 86 VN750 black that has 4000 miles nad needs nothing and that is how he bought it last year for about $2500.
Buy both the Clymers and the Kawasaki manual it will save you a bundle of time.