Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
nitrofish420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)
 
Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

The throttle opening cable is easy enough, but the closing cable is a pain in the ass. This one actually broke, and the eyelet and an inch or so of cable is still in the throttle arm on the carbs. Is there an easier way? I tried taking the nut off the arm to remove it, but it won't come off the shaft all of the way (the front cyl's carb is in the way) If not, I'm probably gonna break down and pull the gas tank and carbs tomorrow.
nitrofish420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
nitrofish420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

TTT for my lazy ass not getting around to tinkering with it further... If anyone could save me a carb removal/reinstall you'd be a lifesaver..
nitrofish420 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 09:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 206
iTrader: (1)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

I was thinking while I was reinstalling mine that if I had a set of forceps or long 90* needlenose pliers I could get the cable off/on. Something long and thin with gripping jaws...ya know? curved forceps might work better...

I had no idea how to fanagle the cable end. I got the nuts loose but then couldn't manuever the cable in the available space enough to get it out of the bracket.
Imnohero is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2005, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
nitrofish420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

Did you end up having to pull the carbs?
nitrofish420 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-29-2005, 02:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 206
iTrader: (1)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

yes. But I was in the process of pulling the whole engine, so it was part of the process.
Imnohero is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-29-2005, 02:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

I recently changed mine due to a closing cable breaking. It's a little of a pain but it does help if you open the throttle a little bit. I moved it towards open and used a screwdriver handle to hold it there while I removed and installed the end.
jdegreif is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-02-2005, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
nitrofish420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)
 
Re: Anyone ever replaced their throttle cables?

That's what I'd been trying to do, but to no avail. I'll probably just pull the carbs, that'll give me a chance to replace vacuum/fuel lines that are about 20 years old.
nitrofish420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome