1st Bike an Overwhelmed--Guidance Needed - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 07-19-2014, 01:49 AM Thread Starter

1st Bike and Overwhelmed--Guidance Needed

Hey Y'all,

I'm a 25 year old teacher from Georgia. I have just purchased my first motorcycle and now I am becoming so over-saturated with information that it is honestly becoming a little overwhelming.

The bike is an 2004 and has 12,000 miles. It just had a full tune up and brand new tires put on.

1) I saw that an AGM battery is recommended. Is there a specific brand battery to go with?

2) Waterproof, Shockproof, Digital Volt Meters......where can I purchase one and what else do I need to hook it up?

Is there anything else I should do to benefit and add to the longevity of the bike? Please add any information (links if possible) to this post.

Thank you,
CJ

Last edited by gatrapper; 07-19-2014 at 11:48 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 07-19-2014, 06:39 AM

Read the Vulcan Verses. A wealth of info there. What part of Georgia? Several Georgia riders are regulars here.
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old 07-19-2014, 07:43 AM

I'm a teacher as well. Welcome to the forum. You are in the best place possible for help with your bike.

I made the mistake of not replacing my factory battery and after a couple years it leaked acid all over the place and cost me 300 dollars to sort out. I was a hell of a lot dumber then.

For the love of GOD it sounds like your bike is just perfect. Take some pictures and share with everyone. I had a 95VN750 for 15 years. Read the Vulcan Verses as rsavant pointed out. They are a great help.

2008 Vulcan 900 Classic LT
HID lighting 35 Watt White
Chrome Slotted oval Mirrors
Chilhowee Tank Bra
Barons Big Air Kit
Vance & Hines Twin Slash staggered
EJK Gen 3 Electronic Jet Kit

1991 Vulcan 750 226 miles
Spiegler brake lines