I'm not ever using the clutch again - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
I'm a rider

Garage
I'm not ever using the clutch again

Unless I am sitting still I see no need to use the clutch on it. It is absolutely smooth as butter shifting up and down at any speed in any gear. I found out by accident, but now I dont even want to bother with the clutch unless I am starting/stopping.

I was initially concerned with teeth, synchros, plates, and everything else however I have paid close attention to it and it is just absolutely butter smooth. This may not be new to some, but I have always used the clutch. I just bought this particular bike this week so I am still learning things about it, but this is the only one I have owned that seems like it is completely unnessesary to shift with the clutch. Just left off like normal and kick it up or down.

I wanted to do this thread to see if others did this since I have never asked anyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 01:06 PM

It is hard to find hot shifting to be butter smooth....

if you are forcing the shifter into the next gear up or down, you are likely stressing components, make darn sure the engine speed matches the transmission speed - that is better than just jamming it in.

I use the clutch often, but sometimes I don't I think it is just a personal preference.

Kenny

Merc
2000 Vulcan Drifter 800
Roadhouse classic 2 > 1 exhaust
Okie Smokie intake config
Changed jets
52K miles or so, always going up
Corbin Seat
Painted flat black winter '12
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
I'm a rider

Garage
Well I ride at what anyone would call a comfortable pace. I shift around 3,500 and it drops right in.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 02:19 PM
2014 KLR 650!