Used bike inspection? '05 - 1,600 miles - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 09:21 PM Thread Starter

Used bike inspection? '05 - 1,600 miles

I'm really interested in an '05 with 1,600 miles on it at a dealership. I quickly looked it over, and it doesn't appear that it was ever laid down or in an accident.

I've been riding a honda rebel (250 cc's) for a few years, but I'm not a mechanical expert by any means. It's relatively new, no dents or scratches, rust, or any other visual blemishes. Do I really need to do a detailed inspection on the VN 750? It seems too new to have any real problems? Am I wrong?

Thanks,
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 09:26 PM
HAWK

Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
You are right it is new, I wish there was a vehicle history report for bikes.
Did you ask why it was there, you will probabley get a line "they got a bigger bike"
You probabley don't have anything to wory about, Have you ridden it yet?
That is the final test.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 10:04 PM
85 VN 700

Personally, I feel that EVERY vehicle should be subject to the best inspection you are capable of before buying.

If you buy the bike - definitely check the splines ASAP - seems like 05 was one of the years the lube guy was asleep at the wheel. With 1500 miles the splines would still be good if the guy was asleep - but it's too expensive of a repair to ignore till the 8-10k down the road when you'll have the rear tire off first.